We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The good, the bad and the smell!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Lubbock West Medical Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lubbock West Medical Center
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Lubbock
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the smell!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First the good - the staff at this hotel was top notch! Everyone I encountered was friendly, personable and helpful. From housekeeping to the front desk I couldn't have received any friendlier service at a high end hotel. Too bad they were at such a sub par hotel. The entire facility is worn out. We were there on a football game weekend, therefore a full facility, and only one elevator was operating. But the worst part of our stay was the smell! A dreadful sewer gas odor wafted up from the very slow drains in the lavatory and the shower. It was so awful that just brushing teeth was gag worthy! Because the hotel was full, we couldn't be moved to another room, so we suffered with the smell. No plumbing repairs on the weekend. Despite the great staff I would not return to this property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texastraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    63
    65
    46
    42
See reviews for
131
38
20
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed at the Lubbock West Med. Center La Quinta the week of Oct 22 to Oct 26, 2012. When you walk into the front of the building (and sometimes the back) get ready for a nice strong smell of cigarette smoke. This is a smoking hotel and it permeates the lobby (but not in my room.) They apparently allow cigarette smokers to smoke right outside the main entrance so it gets into the lobby. For 3 days I had to ask the Staff daily to replace my entrance key as it would only work 1 time to enter during the day. After the 3rd day of doing this, somebody at the front desk mentioned that the batteries in the room door locking mechanism might be "out." Really!! That turned out to be correct. Mattress terrible. Breakfast not worth it. Cold showers on Wednesday and the entire building hot water heaters, or a pipe, failed.

Good things: Internet connection was good, which is a big plus for a hotel, still, in these days. Very conveniently located (as are many other better hotels adjacent to Texas Tech and the Medical School.)

Regardless, would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The lady at the Front Desk called Deborah was very nice, friendly and helpful to us during our stay at the hotel. Great customer service! Check in and check out was fast and she was attentive to our needs. She even remembered our names when we went up to the desk to ask for assistance. Housekeeping kept our room clean and we got supplies when we requested for them. We will consider staying at this hotel next time when we are in Lubbock.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 755Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The mattresses are worn out. The window had been left open when we entered and we had two lizards running aroung the room. The bathroom sink was stopped up and I asked two days in a row for it to be checked by a plumber. When we checked out on the third day, they had never checked it. Also, the water pressure is awful in the shower and the shower walls and tub were filthy!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lubbock North
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lubbock Near Texas Tech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guesthouse Inn & Extended Stay Suites
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lubbock
Staybridge Suites Lubbock
#31 of 63 in Lubbock
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lubbock Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Lubbock West Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Lubbock West Medical Center

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Lubbock West Medical Center
Address: 4115 Marsha Sharp Fwy, Lubbock, TX 79407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Lubbock West Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Lubbock West Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Lubbock West Medical Hotel Lubbock
La Quinta Lubbock
Lubbock La Quinta
La Quinta Hotel Lubbock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing