We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and value for foodies”
Review of Cafe J

Cafe J
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe J is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 590 Restaurants in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
260 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great food and value for foodies”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Staying in Lubbock, our friends took us out to dinner here and we were pleasantly surprised. Most of us had a pork tenderloin dish which was not only visually attractive, but a gastronomical delight. Wine list is pretty darn good -better than I expected in Lubbock. Foodies and wine lovers will find things they like here, and the prices are quite reasonable. Service is pretty good. Do recommend if you are looking for something else other than the latest "house of red meat" in Lubbock. They definitely have healthier selections than red meat, including some great veggie rise dishes. But they do red meat well, also.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HikeWineHotSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    37
    11
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent food served by a knowledgeable waitstaff.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Three of us enjoyed an evening of dinner and relaxation here. The menu is extensive but of front we were informed that several items were unavailable. The French Onion soup was out of this world with generous cheese broiled just right. French bread was fresh and warm. Salads, including a great Caesar, were crisp and three different entrees (one being salmon which was perfectly prepared) drew absolutely no criticism. Portions most adequate. The restaurant has a bar area off to the side which frequently has entertainment. Located near downtown Lubbock opposite the Texas Tech campus.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I've never been treated so poorly!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If I could give negative stars for this establishment, I would. My party of 8 had an 11 am reservation for brunch yesterday. The reservation was made with excitement as it was to be a celebration of old friends reuniting and an upcoming wedding. Half of our party arrived at 11:04 after witnessing a car accident on 19th street secondary to the traffic lights being out. The hostess, Autree (sp?) (a very tall man dressed as a woman) exhaled when the girls checked in, tapped her watch and condescendingly said, "I was assured you'd be on time. We can't seat only 3 of 8." The girls apologized and explained that the lights on 19th were out and there was an accident. Also, one of the members of our party was a surgeon stuck at the hospital, and he was to give the rest of the party a ride. The hostess told the girls, "well, get comfortable because I'll probably have to give your table away if everyone isn't here by 11:15. We need the table anyway." At that point, the rest of the party showed up, myself included, and I was so appalled at the report of how the hostess treated my friends that I asked for the manager. The same woman came up to me and said she was the manager (which is a very sad fact seeing as how it seems she was training another young girl) and again tapped her watch stating that we were late. I explained the situation and she said "Well, I would have appreciated a phone call." We were addressed in such a condescending manner that I was in shock that this individual with absolutely no interpersonal skills is not only representing this establishment but is managing it!! I finally told her that we will just go somewhere else because I couldn't imagine paying money at a restaurant where the customers were treated with such disdain. Her response was "Good! I need the table anyway." My friends and I took our business over to Manna Bread and Wine and received excellent customer service from the hostess who had us seated within 15 minutes despite the crowd. The food was excellent and came with a smile, not a degrading scowl. My fiancé and I are long time residents of Lubbock and work at UMC. We are so disgusted by the service (or lack thereof) we received that we will never return to Cafe J's and will be passing along our experience to all of our friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Pink2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good eating, broad selection for travelers”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Plenty of locals and travelers eating here. We were visiting just for the night and desperate for something fresh to eat. Our Cafe J waiter boasted about their steaks being a destination spot for, so we tried a couple of sirloins. Nice! Tender and flavorful. Ordered fresh steamed broccoli and a salad to go along with. Very good. The menu had it all including breakfast selections. Large casual dining areas and close to hotels. Service was right on, establishment clean, plenty of parking and not noisy, yet filled with diners for an evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Augustspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had dinner there and we were surprised of the excellence of service and the chefs quality of the food.the food was superb .apetizers and main courses were in a small portion style but they were tasteful and nicely presented.expensive.
I suggest to do some work to the decoration inside.the outside area need more work too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing