We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”
Review of Cafe J

Cafe J
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe J is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 602 Restaurants in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
lubbock
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Recently had the seafood crepe for lunch. It came wrapped like a burrito! And it consisted of very dry salmon inside a very dry crepe, little flavor. I was so disappointed, the other times I've had the seafood crepe it had a tasty white sauce, crab and shrimp. Made me think they had to get rid of a lot of old salmon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lubbock123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    37
    11
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

sunday brunch is our favorite by far. Learned the hard way that we needed to make a reservation but we had no problem waiting at the bar or outside on the patio. Highly recommend. Dinner is great too but we like our brunch fix.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I love the atmosphere and food at Cafe J, but recently met some of my friends for lunch and found myself very disappointed at their lack of accommodating young children. I went in with my 9 month old, and was told they didn't even have a high chair for him. I find that very strange, this is the only restaurant I've ever been to that did not have a high chair available!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KW1Lubbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Brien, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“West Tx Touch of Class”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We love this place for Sunday brunch. Great service, great food and not so loud that you can't talk!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RafterGRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always great: Cafe J”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a wonderful, quiet, lovely place to eat. It is right across from the Tech campus. We had lunch, March 2013. The service is excellent. The restaurant is very pretty with water color paintings on the walls that are for sale. The food and desserts are great.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amarige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing