We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish tacos the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe J

Cafe J
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe J is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 587 Restaurants in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fish tacos the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Ordered the fish tacos with tempura fried cod. FABULOUS, cannot wait to return with my husband to wow him too!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margaret g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    36
    11
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for Bachelorette pre-party drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I had my Bachelorette dinner/drinks here and it was great! Great service and great drinks!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Green Chile Cream Soup Never Disappoints!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I always enjoy Cafe J, but unfortunately, don't dine there often. Probably because a lunch "special" of a half sandwich and bowl of soup is $11. Salads range from $11-13. It's always great...but suggest it when someone else is buying. My personal favorite whether dining there for lunch or dinner is a cup of their Green Chile Cream Soup...yum!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ru1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Luncheon at Cafe J”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Very nice restaurant, cool and dark atmosphere..intimate.
Good Service, Very nice menu selection.
will definitely visit again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kiwi41999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Was disappointed on my visit several months ago. We ordered the asian dumpling appetizer and they were still frozen inside. Obviously not made fresh and expect more for a $12 appetizer. My pasta entre was mediocre and contained a hair. Quality seems to have slipped and not worth the price any longer.

Helpful?
1 Thank nkrpctl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing