We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Logan, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Room”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Overton Hotel has the most helpful staff I've encountered in many conference stays. Everyone was friendly and, despite having many guests, remembered me individually. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. They accommodated both an early check-in and slightly late departure. When I arrived at the airport earlier than expected, they sent a van right away.

And as others have said, the Pecan Grill food is terrific, with many local selections. Try the mussels. And the conference food, designed especially by the chef for our organization, was by far the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tseh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overtonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind comments about your stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for complimenting the food and our Pecan Grill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    188
    84
    38
    19
See reviews for
209
91
20
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We have visited Lubbock many times over the last 4 years, as we have a child in college at Texas Tech. This hotel is beautiful, super convenient to everything and the staff are first rate. We felt welcomed, and amazingly, REMEMBERED from our last stay there. It was worth every penny.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overtonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We really appreciate your comments, and we have been happy to have you stay with us over the years. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tn
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Cool simple modern/tx decor. Clean. Comfortable with a quality feel and ambience. Nice bed with cushy linens and pillows. Great sunsets courtesy of Lubbock.
Staff amazingly helpful and nice. Good food in restaurant. Wild boar!
Great conference space. Had a little problem with the WIFI but it might have been me.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overtonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us. We hope that you will come back and stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Pecan Grill, while relaxed, is a wonderful "fine dining" experience. The entire menu is outstanding and the wait staff is beautifully trained. The Pecan Grill is a singular reason for a stay ot the Overton............or an exceptional resturant for dinner out.
Gloria Duke-Richter

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a terrific panarama.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dukerichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overtonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We really do appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about our Pecan Grill. We are glad that you had a wonderful "fine dinning" experience. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We reserved a group of rooms here. There were signs in the lobby welcoming us. As with David T's review, from the moment you step out of the car until you leave, you experience a smiling, helpful staff. Because I arranged the event, I was upgraded to a King Suite room. It was HUGE!! The facility is new, helpful staff, and very good food in the restaurant. They even shuttled my husband and I to a recommended steakhouse, about three miles away, then picked us up. We felt very pampered. I would have given five stars, but our room was not cleaned the first day, which we discovered as we got in about 10 PM. Oversights happen, and it was corrected the next day.

Room Tip: Our king suite was huge! The room arrangement might have been better, as you had to go into a separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overtonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We thank you for sharing your stay with us and are very glad that we made you feel welcomed from the moment you walked in. We truly hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

had a great experience at the Overton Hotel in Lubbock. Great staff who were exceptionally polite, helpful, courteous and friendly who went above and beyond the normal customer services expectations each time I encountered them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overtonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us. We are pleased that we went above and beyond your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very seldom to I encounter the type of hospitality I received at the Overton. From the moment I stepped out of the car until check out I was constantly being met by people with smiles. The room was quiet and the beds extra comfortable. The sunrise viewed out of the east facing window was spectacular. Don't forget to try the restaurant where the menu is unique and the food excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overtonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are very happy to have had you stay with us and we greatly appreciate your comments. We are glad that you truly felt welcomed by our service and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
2.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lubbock Southwest
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock West
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Lubbock Downtown/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2322 Mac Davis Ln, Lubbock, TX 79401-2219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lubbock
#9 Family Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Overton Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first and only Four Diamond Lodging in West Texas, the Overton Hotel is Lubbock's premiere destination for leisure and business travel. With construction complete in July of 2009, the Overton is Lubbock's newest and most luxurious hotel and conference center. Conveniently located next to Texas Tech in the newly redeveloped Overton Park, the Overton Hotel is close to the Health Sciences Center, downtown Lubbock, the depot entertainment district, and 10 minutes from the Lubbock Preston Smith International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Overton Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Hotel Lubbock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing