We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party place!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Party place!!!!”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

It's 2:54am the cops and security have been in the room beside us for the past 1-2 hrs due to a party going on. We in our room have yet to sleep tonight. This is ridiculous. Obliviously the security and cops are familier with this situation at this location because minimal action was taken. Safe to say I'm demanding a refund in the am and not staying here again!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overtonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
I apologize about the experience you had this weekend. This is not what the Overton normally portrays by any means. We had a wedding party in house that got out of hand; my Staff took care of the situation. I am very sorry that it disturbed your rest. I was informed by my Manager on Duty that he took care of your room charges. If there is anything else I can do for you, should you change mind about the Overton; please contact me directly. Again I am sorry, Thank you for your time.

Respectfully,

Kurt Metcalf

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    188
    84
    38
    19
See reviews for
209
91
20
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed in room 1509 at the Overton & it was fabulous! The rooms were deocrated so nicely & the bed was even comfortable. The service was great & the food was fabulous. I must admit it was nothing like I expected from Lubbock, Texas. I've traveled far & wide. This property beat our favorite Maui, Hawaii spot. If ever back in Lubbock, I would definitely stay here again. WELL WORTH THE PRICE!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the king suite on the 15th floor. It was quiet & peaceful. I might have slept bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is truly an incredible hotel! In October my son and I planned a visit to Lubbock to see Texas Tech. I checked Tripadvisor and saw bad reviews of this hotel, boy were they wrong!! I chose not to stay at this hotel based on the review, we stayed the Embassy Suites on the other side of town.
The Embassy Suites was ok, it was also WAY on the other side of town away from Tech and all the area around the school offer (restaraunts, coffee shops, shopping).
We just went back to Tech for another visit and decided to try the Overton, what a treat! Seriously the only reason I like Lubbock is now based on this hotel! I travel A LOT and this hotel is just awesome! Clean, comfortable the staff is incredibly helpful and is beautiful!
I reccomend the upper floors that grant access to the "club room" worth every penny!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INeedVacationTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuPage County, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I came to the Overton Hotel for a business conference and brought my husband along for the ride. My first impression of the hotel started with the concierge. They were friendly and professional; a good start to a great experience.
Our room was tastefully decorated: stylish with a fun Texan twist... both contemporary and country. We loved the bed (so ridiculously comfy) and the Keurig coffee maker. The whole room was spotlessly cleaned and we had no issues with it at all.
They had nice amenities including a beautiful pool and hot tub (which i unfortunately did not have the opportunity to enjoy). The conference room, banquet hall and bar area were all very nice with the same rustic/contempo decor. The restaurant offered a plentiful breakfast/brunch buffet which was tasty.
Overall, we had a wonderful experience and I would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We first stayed at the Overton shortly after it opened a few years ago. It seems that nothing has been done to maintain the property. Both of the cordless phones in our room were dead. The common areas had obvious broken/missing pieces of decroation.

However, the food remains great. The saturday night music was great. The hotel staff were very friendly, but seemed inexperienced to deal with my complaint about the phone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke-11_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritch, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We planned a trip to Lubbock to see family and attend a Stockshow.......the Overton had great reviews and was only $20.00 more than the hotels with basic or minimum reviews, so we booked. Amazing hotel, from Valet parking, of which we did not use to the very kind and helpful front desk clerks. Room was equally as amazing.....soft soft beds, Keurig coffee maker....window front desk....well appointed bathroom.....There is a restaurant and bar in the lobby with patio seating as well.....no complimentary breakfast......very very nice place to visit!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor...the clerk gave us floor options.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelsonlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I have stayed at most of the hotels in the Lubbock area and the Overton tops them all.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richoverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
2.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lubbock Southwest
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock West
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Lubbock Downtown/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2322 Mac Davis Ln, Lubbock, TX 79401-2219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lubbock
#9 Family Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Overton Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first and only Four Diamond Lodging in West Texas, the Overton Hotel is Lubbock's premiere destination for leisure and business travel. With construction complete in July of 2009, the Overton is Lubbock's newest and most luxurious hotel and conference center. Conveniently located next to Texas Tech in the newly redeveloped Overton Park, the Overton Hotel is close to the Health Sciences Center, downtown Lubbock, the depot entertainment district, and 10 minutes from the Lubbock Preston Smith International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Overton Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Hotel Lubbock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing