We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Texas Hospitality - Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“True Texas Hospitality - Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We recently stayed at the Overton during our daughter's "move-in" weekend at Texas Tech. We were very pleased with the hospitality and efforts made by the Manager Kurt Metcalf and his assistant Josh Henegar in accommodating our needs and last minute change of plans. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet at the 2322 restaurant is very good, and once again the staff was very friendly and helpful. The staff in the hospitality lounge was also very welcoming. We have several upcoming trips to Lubbock and will definitely stay at the Overton

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELINMOMMA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    187
    83
    38
    19
See reviews for
207
90
19
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pine Haven, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed at the Overton when I brought my daughter to TTU, The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is awesome.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed at this hotel when I took my daughter to Texas Tech. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The front desk was friendly. The room was large and bed comfortable. View of the TTech campus was awesome. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocketlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I give this hotel a good rating. On the plus side:
- clean rooms with the exception of some of that pink shower mold stuff around the edges.
- very nice, comfy beds and pillows
- easy to access intenet with adequate speed.
- nice, fluffy shower towels that appear to be new.
- prompt shuttle ride from the airport, though most of the seat belts in the van are broken.

On the negative side:
- long walk from parking to entrance
- we only tried breakfast at the restaurant, but was told there would be 15 min wait for a table. There were many open tables, but they were short wait staff. We ate elsewhere.

I am not really big on front desk service and smiles as long as everything is accurate. We had no problems.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We spent two nights at the Overton so as to be close to campus for having early access to the opening of my son's assigned dormitory on Saturday morning. The Overton made that weekend experience very nice, easy, comfortable, and enjoyable. Everyone at the hotel was more than friendly. I will be sure to make The Overton my destination the next time I'm back in Lubbock.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful time visiting Lubbock (Texas Tech, RN-BSN orientation) for three days and we especially had a great time at the Overton hotel. I am not sure why some guests have negative experiences? BUT we believe how you treat people, especially when dealing with customer service, you will receive the same service back. All staff (front desk, room service, bar, valet, housekeeping) at the Overton Hotel are superb, our room (1228, king bed) was beautiful/clean, esp. the view of Texas Tech campus. Overton Hotel is truly a wonderful hotel, from the swimming pool/hot tub (beautiful area to relax in), the Overton bar is a welcoming area, we took our cocktails outdoors to the inviting patio seating area, so relaxing, night stars. My husband visited the Rawls golf course, he had a great time, beautiful course while I was attending orientation. Several restaurants within walking distance, very safe area. We are especially looking forward to visiting next May for graduation (already have my rooms booked), because we know we will have an awesome experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy_scott_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We were impressed with the overall appearance of the hotel but the staff stole the show :-) They were genuinely friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, and were equipped with Keurig coffee makers and a mini 'frig :-) Should we find ourselves back in Lubbock, we will definitely plan to stay at the Overton Hotel again.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SFB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
2.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lubbock Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock West
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Lubbock Downtown/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2322 Mac Davis Ln, Lubbock, TX 79401-2219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lubbock
#9 Family Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Overton Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first and only Four Diamond Lodging in West Texas, the Overton Hotel is Lubbock's premiere destination for leisure and business travel. With construction complete in July of 2009, the Overton is Lubbock's newest and most luxurious hotel and conference center. Conveniently located next to Texas Tech in the newly redeveloped Overton Park, the Overton Hotel is close to the Health Sciences Center, downtown Lubbock, the depot entertainment district, and 10 minutes from the Lubbock Preston Smith International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Overton Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Hotel Lubbock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing