We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Southern hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodrow House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Lubbock B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 1, 2006

I stayed at the WH while visiting Texas Tech. Loved the WH. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. Dawn's breakfast was a lovely start for my long days, and chatting with the other guests was a plus. The rooms are comfortable and charming, and I liked the fact that I could control the temperature. Wireless internet was a big plus for me. The caboose in the backyard is such a great idea! I'd definitely recommend the WH to any fan of bed and breakfast. If you like bed and breakfasts, the WH is the place for you. As for the 'house rules', which sounds off-putting, nothing is forbidden that a considerate guest would want to do anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gunnercade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 82 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Brownwood, Texas
14
Reviewed December 25, 2005

We planned our parents 50th anniversary celebration at the Woodrow House. The rooms were beautiful and interesting; however, we were made to feel as if we invaded someone's home. We were made to feel unwelcome. Instead of informing us that this some things were not services provided or privileges that guest could have, the owners were very "cold" to the entire family during the first 24 hours until it came time to discuss the payment of the bill at which time I asked if there were problems or if our family had done something that was wrong. I was then informed that I should read the rules and regulations for use of the property. Had I had the rules and regulations prior to our stay, some of the misunderstandings could have been avoided.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 16, 2006

This was a very unfortunate misunderstanding. We usually send out rules and regulations if 5 or more of our rooms are rented out to one family. This family only had four of the seven rooms. They assumed that because they had four rooms that they had use of the entire house. This was an inconvienence to our other guests. They took over the kitchen and common areas. The first evening around 11PM we walked in and there were a dozen or more people having a party in our kitchen. the next morning we had to move their stuff and clean our kitchen before we could prepare breakfast. Needless to say we were a little surprised and had to explain to them that we are a Bed and Breakfast and that the kitchen and common areas are rented separately for parties. They were a nice family and we hate that this misunderstanding made it uncomfortable for them. We have since changed our policy and make it a point to find out exactly what the plans are if a family books more than one room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2005

Our family 'invaded' the Woodrow House in Lubbock, Texas. We came in peace - we brought snacks!
We were made to feel at home from the minute we walked in the door. And, so, we made ourselves at home.
Our guests were welcome, also, and they appreciated touring the lovely home and being able to sit and chat in a quiet, comfortable environment.
The entire staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were decorated......well, check out the website and see for yourself!
------
Woodrow House is, after all, right across the street from Texas Tech University, and Lubbock is, after all, the home of Buddy Holly........
The Fleming family are delightful hosts.
Woodrow House is in a great location.
Y'all go!

2  Thank rantaliciousbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2005

We stayed in the Woodrow House on March 21 and had a wonderful time. We stayed in Granny's Attic and it was a beautiful, big room on the 3rd floor. Although the Woodrow House is located on a fairly busy street, just across from Texas Tech University, the house was quiet. We heard no street sounds during the night and we slept wonderfully. Breakfast the next morning was a delicious casual affair where we met and visited with the other guests around the breakfast bar. We really enjoyed ourselves. David and Dawn are made for this business. Their home is welcoming and hospitable. The are caring, but not hovering. We hope to go back some day

  • Stayed: April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrackenridgBnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Artesia, NM
13
Reviewed September 30, 2003

The Woodrow House was the greatest place to stay for my husband and I on our honeymoon. It was so peaceful and quiet and the breakfast was GREAT! Everyone was extremely nice also which made our stay that much more enjoyable! Hands down, the best place to go for any occasion!

Mr. & Mrs. Jason Lamb

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gilou94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lubbock
Staybridge Suites Lubbock
#37 of 69 in Lubbock
125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Overton Hotel and Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Lubbock Downtown/University Area
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 69 in Lubbock
690 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodrow House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodrow House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2629 19th St, Lubbock, TX 79410-1502
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lubbock
Price Range: $116 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodrow House Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodrow House B&B has 10 rooms all with private bathrooms. 7 rooms are in the Main House, there is a Caboose that is a room and two full suites in the Carriage House. There is a pool, hot tub, outdoor kitchen and outdoor board games. This B&B is across the street from Texas Tech University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Woodrow House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing