We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handicap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2011

My wife and I arrived To the hotel on a Friday night. After checking in, we opened our room and found the bed sheets all over the place. The bathroom was even still dirty. I imagine they just forgot to clean it. So they stuck us in a handicapped room with 2 queen beds....the room was nice but as nice spacious as the first one. I felt sorry for the front desk attendant. He had to clean rooms and run the desk. There was apparently no cleaning crew on duty.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex8200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jballard1, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

I wanted to apologize for your experience during your January stay with us. Being new to this hotel, I am unsure what the staffing situation was like in January. However, checking a guest into a dirty room is not acceptable and I assure you I have been working with our housekeeping manager to insure that all rooms are inspected before being entered into the computer system as clean.

Please accept my apology for the problems you encountered and should you wish to return, please feel free to contact me directly. I am happy to personally oversee the details of your reservation.

Sincerely,
Jutea Ballard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,663 - 1,669 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2010

We've stayed here rgularly since they opened about three years ago. Something has gone terrible bad in the past year or so.

First, this hotel now caters to long-stay families. Two rooms next to ours had groups of four or more living out of it, and had Hefty bags from wall-to-wall. These families/vagrants were loud into the night, until about 12:45 a.m. Management did nothing about the problem.

Our room was double-billed. I inquired to three clerks in-person. Each said they would have a manager (one said "an accountant") contact me regarding the error. None ever has. Fortunately, I was able to dispute the charge with my bank.

Horrible customer service and weird tenants. This place probably isn't what you expect.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaconHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornFOM, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for your review! We have changed so much over the years. We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

This is my 3rd stay at this hotel. I am in Lubbock frequently and like to stay in hotels with kitchenettes. Hawthorn Suites advertises rooms with furnished kitchens. I have never had a room with anything in the kitchen other than paper cups for the coffee maker and one microwaveable saucepan---no plates, no glasses, no utensils, nothing! I complained about this in Dec. 2009 and April 2010. Did get a voucher for 2 free nights which I appreciated but when I returned in Nov. 2010, they still had not furnished the kitchens. I mentioned this to the marketing dept. upon my leaving and she had no idea that the kitchens were not furnished. And, the last morning I was there I found a small bug in the bed! I took the bug in a plastic bag to the desk when I checked out. Absolutely, no response from the desk clerk. Don't think it was a bed bug but with all the bed bug hotel issues in the news, I think my finding deserved a response. Haven't heard a word from them!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hope423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornFOM, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for your review! We have changed so much over the years. We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Nice rooms. Very comfortable beds, with soft sheets. Decor is modern and attractive. Each floor has a computer station and wide-screen TV lounge as you get off the elevator. THe staff is friendly and efficient. I found the hotel to be clean.

Only probelem is in the breakfast room. It is small for a hotel this size and understaffed. THey continually ran out od eggs,, and or sausage. On the third visit to the breakfast room they finally had all the containers full. I grabbed my family and told them we better eat now or it will all be gone. DSure enough, within 10 minutes,all containers were empty again.

I think this can be easlity fixed and if they do fit it, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasLadyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornFOM, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for your review! We have changed so much over the years. We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

THis hotel will not stick out as you zip by on the freeway..BUT the service was INCREDIBLE. Brand new on the inside. Very nice areas on each floor. We were traveling with three kids and it was so nice to go out to the floor "lobby" and not jsut be stuck in the room.
The pool and workout facilities were very nice. They had a problem with a roof leak (record rains for that w/e) but had people out there really trying to fix it asap.
The breakfast was hot and delicious.
The free internet and computers were wonderful. Everything about the rooms were nice.
It's a really nice hotel. There werea few hotels that cost a little less in Lubbock- GLAD WE CHOSE THIS ONE!!
I would strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilatheAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornFOM, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for your review! We have changed so much over the years. We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

The first impression was very good but we were quickly disappointed. The phone didn't work, one lightbulb was out, no extra toilet paper, no silverware or dishes even though there was a microwave,fridge and toaster.??? The main problem was cleanliness: our bathroom wasn't cleaned in 3 days, the beds were not made one day, there was dust on the furniture etc. We called the desk and were told it was because we had the privacy sign on the door - not true except for 30 minutes. The bed was made the next day but still not dusted or the bathroom cleaned.The staff was very nice and apologized, saying they would bring it to management's attention. The hotel is nice but housekeeping is an issue, especially if you have dust allergies as my traveling companion did..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robkal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornFOM, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for your review! We have changed so much over the years. We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I stayed here 5 nights this month due to a family member's hospitalization. The rooms and the amenities are great. I had two different rooms, but both had the same problem. On the ground floor, the drapes are inadequate at blocking outside headlights, and couold be improved. In the second room, which faced north, there was a very large LED billboard less than 50 yards from the windows. At night this was quite a problem. This hotel is a great value, and I will stay there in the future if I'm in Lubbock; however I will avoid the odd numbered rooms, which face this billboard.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John1950Roswell_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornFOM, Front Office Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for your review! We have changed so much over the years. We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock West
2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lubbock
2.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lubbock
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lubbock
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lubbock, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock

Address: 4435 Marsha Sharp Fwy, Lubbock, TX 79407-2519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lubbock
#13 Business Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range: $73 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfort and convenience at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock near Texas Tech University. Each spacious room comes with free high-speed Internet access, a pillow-top mattress, flat-screen TV, separate work area and a fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and stove. Begin your day with our free hot breakfast buffet and a free USA Today. Work out in our fitness center overlooking our heated indoor pool and spa. We offer meeting space, a business center, guest laundry and valet service. Pick up a souvenir in our gift shop, and rest easy knowing there is a 24-hour convenient store for essentials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Lubbock Hotel Lubbock
Lubbock Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing