We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We stayed here while on a college visit to Texas Tech. What a great place! The room was huge, the beds and pillows comfy and it was all very clean. VERY convenient to Tech, a couple of miles down the road. A few minor drawbacks already noted in the hard furniture(so we lay on the comfy beds!) and the window shades(while decorative, not very effective as they did not cover the whole window opening). The only other problem was that we had a "quiet" room in the back and garbage trucks emptied the various bins around the area businesses starting at MIDNIGHT, 3 am and 5 am! We do realize there is nothing they can do about what time the area garbage is picked up. We would stay here again but would ask for a room facing the freeway!

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
Thank DFWMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornFOM, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for your review! We have changed so much over the years. We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,662 - 1,668 of 1,678 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2009

I am SO grateful for this lovely hotel in Lubbock! I travel to Lubbock frequently and have always dreaded the mediocre rooms available there. This hotel is everything you hope to find when spending a night or more away from home. My suite had the most comfy pillow-top bed with zillions of pillows and topped with a puffy duvet. The flat-screen tv is on a swivel bracket on the wall so where ever you are in the suite, you can easily see it. Every amenity they could think of, it's in the suite...they haven't missed a trick in seeing to it that their guests truly have a home away from home.
The location is FABULOUS and close to everything you'll need to be close to in Lubbock!
The staff were exemplary! They were helpful and oh so friendly.
They serve a free hot breakfast every day and dinner during the week.
I can only tell anyone who is looking for a hotel in Lubbock...look no further! You've found the best if you've found the Hawthorn!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LabsR1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthornlubbock, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2009

Thank you for taking time to review our Brand New Hawthorn Suites! We appreciate your time and are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return. Thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Everyone Was Very Nice and helpful at the front desk. The entire hotel was decorated very nice. There was plenty of room in our suite and bathroom. It was nice to be able to have drinks at the bar located inside the hotel,the bartender was very nice and professional. I'm from out of town and make trips to Lubbock very often, i've stayed at 5 other hotels previously and none were as enjoyable even a little as much as Hawthorne Suites. I honestly have no complaints or anything I disliked about my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowflake1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthornlubbock, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2009

Thank you for your review! We are ecstatic to hear that you completely enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

5 star rooms, just fantastic. The rest of the hotel is good. very clean, great service. One minor issue and the team was all over it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekJones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthornlubbock, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2009

Thank you for taking time to let the world know about your experience at our hotel! I am glad to hear that although you experienced a small issue with our hotel, the staff exceeded your expectations in correcting the issue! Thank you for bringing the matter to teh attention of the staff. When we know there is a problem, we pride ourselves on going above and beyond the call of duty. Thank you for your review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

I work at the Westin hotel and would definitely recommend this place to stay if you are travelling to Lubbock. It was amazing for the price....very nice and clean! They served great breakfast and the bed was very comfortable. Easy access to Texas Tech University. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nene1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthornlubbock, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2009

Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We are always pleased to hear about our guests' great experiences. The Hawthorn Suites takes every guest correspondence very seriously and we adjust our service and product as needed in our quest to be Lubbock's #1 hotel. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

I am surprised to read the negative reviews of this hotel. I found the hotel to be in excellent condition and very clean. It is new, modern and a very good value. That's what compelled me to post this review. I was very pleased with my room and didn't have any issues with it. Over the years, I have stayed in many of these type hotels (Hampton Inn, Courtyard, HI Express, Staybridge, etc...) while traveling for my kids' sports. This is probably one of the very nicest I've stayed in, and I've stayed in a lot all over the US and Canada. Didn't try the cocktail hour, but I heard a guest saying good things about it at breakfast. The breakfast was typical and what you would expect from this type of hotel. Not fabulous, but good with hot items (which is always nice!) I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone! When we come to visit our son at Tech, I plan to stay here again. BTW, it is also very convenient to Tech, just down the street a couple of miles. It is kind of hidden behind the overpass, so ask for directions or use a GPS. It took maybe 5 minutes from campus.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthornlubbock, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2009

Thank you for your review! We are always happy to hear about a satisfied guest. Our goal is to be Lubbock's #1 hotel and comments through avenues such as our brand surveys, Expedia, Priceline, and TripAdvisor let us know what we need to improve upon and what we are doing right. We look forward to seeing you again and again. Thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Wow - what a great* hotel!!! New and clean, the suites are huge as are the bathrooms. Very modern with all the features and GREAT* beds - very attractive. Good breakfast buffet, and a nice little bar. However, you need to fix your satellite system by getting cable. Ever think of that? We only had two channels in our room and in the bar they only had a couple of different channels. Weird...

And here's the biggest problems -- why did you not bother putting decent window shades on your windows??? The FLOODLIGHTS outside kept us awake all night!!!!!! Do not rent rooms 237 to anyone!!! Come on, can you not figure out that's a problem? And your pillows? It's nice that they're down, but did you fill them with porcupine down? My face was poked, my eyes were poked, my ears were poked. I finally threw my pillows on the floor.

Note to the hotel's management -- ALWAYS ask your guests if they have a room preference and REMIND them when you have three freakin' wedding parties going into all hours of the night. Do NOT put your non-wedding party guests right by the front door - they will hear all the noise, all the way to 2:00 in the morning!!! If I had known we were going to have to suffer through this, and deal with the curtain/outside light issue, I wouldn't have stayed with you had you paid ME $99.... Fix your HUGE problems and train your staff!!! You'll potentially have a great* hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthornlubbock, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2009

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are glad that you rated us very highly for cleanliness, rooms, service, and location. To be able to provide the channels that we do and stay ahead of our competition, we rely on satellite programming. Just the same as cable, satellite programming can be disrupted. We apologize that while you were here we did experience an outage. We have everything up and running again. Our window shades in specific rooms are being replaced with blackout curtains; in the meantime, we encourage guests to call the front desk when they experience an issue such as the lights and the noise in hallways. We have temporary solutions available for the outside lights and we can ask noisy guests to quiet down and to go to their rooms or the first floor lobby to socialize. We would never expect our guests to endure a horrible stay, but we don't know that guests are unhappy unless they contact hotel staff. Thank you for taking time now to let us know where we can improve our hotel. Thanks to guests like you, we have realized that a few specific rooms need blackout curtains and they are on order. We encourage our guests to take advantage of the courtesy call we place to every room after checking in. Tell the front desk when you experience a problem - give us a chance to wow you and make things right. Thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lubbock
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock West
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lubbock, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 69 in Lubbock
692 reviews
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lubbock
2.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock

Address: 4435 Marsha Sharp Fwy, Lubbock, TX 79407-2519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range: $74 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfort and convenience at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock near Texas Tech University. Each spacious room comes with free high-speed Internet access, a pillow-top mattress, flat-screen TV, separate work area and a fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and stove. Begin your day with our free hot breakfast buffet and a free USA Today. Work out in our fitness center overlooking our heated indoor pool and spa. We offer meeting space, a business center, guest laundry and valet service. Pick up a souvenir in our gift shop, and rest easy knowing there is a 24-hour convenient store for essentials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Lubbock Hotel Lubbock
Lubbock Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing