We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family restaurant”

River Smith's Chicken & Catfish Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 618 Restaurants in Lubbock
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: River Smith's Chicken & Catfish is a family-restaurant serving made-from-scratch Southern specialties! Serving Southern, Cajun favorites, everything is made from scratch at River Smith's. Try our famous chicken and catfish or try our delicious burgers, sandwiches, steaks, and desserts.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Good, quick, inexpensive food in a family atmosphere. Close to interstate and motels. Get the catfish.

Thank Kozmofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at River Smith's Chicken & Catfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Awesome to see you were able to swing by on your trip to Texas. We're glad you enjoyed your experience with us, and hope to see you in for some catfish the next time you're in town!

Thank you,
Paul and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 118 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

I'm not too fond of fried food, but River Smith's is one of the very few restaurants located close to my work. My friend and I ate the fried butterfly shrimp there this past week, and we enjoyed our meal. I don't care for their chicken, but I do recommend the shrimp. Service was great- everyone was friendly and the food came out quickly. Definitely not a "fancy dinner out" kind of establishment, but it fit the bill for a fast, decent lunch.

Thank RedRaiderFan416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at River Smith's Chicken & Catfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

The fact that you don't even care for fried food but loved our butterfly shrimp really speaks to us. Sorry you didn't care for the chicken, but we've got plenty of other amazing options for your next visit. Feel free to give your server a heads up on what kind of flavors you like -- we'd love to help you find just the thing. Whenever that may be, we're looking forward to it!

All the best,
Paul and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hard to find decent fried catfish out here in the desert. When ever I'm in Lubbock I try to stop at River Smith's. The food is always good. The place is a little dated inside, there are a lot of "miles" on this place but the food is fine. We stopped in and had the fried catfish lunch for under $7. This includes a large drink, plenty of fried catfish, hush puppies and fries. Other substitutes available. This is just a good solid bang for the buck meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arlon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at River Smith's Chicken & Catfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Our "miles" are the reason we've come to be the restaurant we are today -- we're proud to show them, Arlon! Happy to see you find great taste and value in our meals, and hope to see you in on your next stop through Lubbock!

Thank you,
Paul and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

From the crisp salad bar variety to the wonderful onion rings and hush puppies, to the tender chicken, we really enjoyed this meal. Ate there at 7:00 pm on a Monday. Friendly, courteous staff ff, as well. We'll be back next trip through Lubbock.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at River Smith's Chicken & Catfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

This is music to our ears, Bob! Thank you for swinging by and hanging out with us. We're so happy we were able to give you a great experience. Hopefully you've been back since you wrote this -- if not we hope to see you soon!

Cheers,
Paul and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We thought from the look outside it would be good. It is really,really dirty. Food was not good. Service was horrible. Just do yourself a favor and don't stop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at River Smith's Chicken & Catfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Well this isn't what we like to hear, Terry! You should always expect a great meal in a clean restaurant when you step foot through our doors -- we're really surprised to hear you experienced otherwise. We don't often see reviews like this, so it really seems like you caught us on a day where we weren't at our best. Wish we had a little bit more details so we could address this more thoroughly with the staff, though.

Your honesty is really appreciated here. That said, we'd love it if you would give us another shot next time you're around. We know we can do better!

Sincerely,
Paul and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Smith's Chicken & Catfish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to River Smith's Chicken & Catfish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing