We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, OK stay”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Lubbock
New Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value, OK stay”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Though the lobby smelled a little like smoke, fortunately our room did not. We stayed in the handicap room on the end. The handicap features included a huge bathroom, a shower chair and hand-held shower head. There was a fidge and a microwave. It was quiet. The room had enough space, a huge bed, and was moderately clean. Just fine for a "crash pad" after a day's drive. The breakfast was more than expected, and included hot items. Overall, it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holbb, Owner at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    5
    10
    22
See reviews for
18
11
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
carlsbad
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Lobby was nice I give them that. Room smelt like smoke even tho it was a SMOKE FREE room, Bed and pillows smelt bad. Only half of the shower head worked, microwave was nasty, Couldnt even put our pizza in the fridge because of all the ice that was caked on it! A/C didnt even seem to be cooling. I Booked online to get the discount and still got charged FULL PRICE!! I will never go back to this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Needs major updating. Gaps in entry door big enough for any bug or snake to get through, though that didn't happen it didn't make sleeping any more relaxing. AC was hanging off the wall but was in working condition. Sheets had stains, some of the towels were stained. Time to get new duds! Repair any loose chairs!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Back_in_the_snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2012

One of the last rooms left in Lubbock due to TTU Graduation so I paid $200. They should be ashamed charging $50 for this room but $200 is robbery. The lobby stinks and the girl there was slow and confused. The room stank, carpet stained and gross, bed lumpy, sheets torn, towel bar falling out of wall, suppose to be white towels were grey and badly stained, hair dryer didn't work alarm clock didn't exist, door jams and walls dirty etc etc etc. Nasty Nasty place

Room Tip: To choose a good room go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tex1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The hotel lobby reeked of smoke. The room smelled really bad. And, the greedy thieves wanted $54 for the first night and $500 for the second night. Do yourself a favor and stay at the new Travel Lodge a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Everything was fine besides the noisy neighborhood and the prostitutes walking around

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mycole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The only BAD thing was the WI FI service was messed up after the 2ND night. So I was unable to get on the internet. The rest of my hotel experiance was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Lubbock East
1.4 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Lubbock South
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge I-27
Econo Lodge I-27
#43 of 68 in Lubbock
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Conference Center Lubbock
3.1 mi away
Guesthouse Inn & Extended Stay Suites
3.5 mi away
Studio 6 Lubbock Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 4801 Avenue Q, Lubbock, TX 79412-2209 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Lubbock
Lubbock Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing