We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manna Bread & Wine - CLOSED

Manna Bread & Wine
Cuisines: American, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“LOVE this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

All the chain restaurants had a 45 minute wait. No waiting time at this very romantic, super nice little restaurant. We were helped right away. Great service and very good food. Can't wait to go again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpokieTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    31
    5
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lazy and lovely afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had lunch there recently, ordered a burger with salad--great choice. The burger was fat and juicy (although the bacon, grilled mushrooms, and grilled green chiles I added didn't hurt!) and it was without a doubt the best I've had in awhile. Sat at the bar--very cozy on a cold afternoon.

The wine was good, service beyond reproach, and food was fab. I still love this place. It is unique. Kudos Manna--keep it up.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HillCountryDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

At first, I liked this restaurant. Despite their limited menu, what they did offer tasted satisfactory. What turned me off, however, was their poor management. I saw one girl working constantly, and all the others were slacking off. This girl was seating people, bussing tables, getting bread and water to guests...every time I saw her, she was hard at work while the others did nothing but get mad at her for not doing more things. This girl visited my table three times: to serve water, to serve bread, and to ask if we were doing all right, before my party was even visited by our waiter. I honestly don't know how she could possibly do any more that what she was. During this time, I saw a few of the managers in the bar area talking. That was the last straw. This disrespectful and unacceptable management is what convinced me to never eat here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have eaten here for dinner and lunch and it was fantastic. The meatloaf is divine and the king crab, avocado, mango nachos are my favorite,but sometimes I will mix it up and get the ancho Chilie shrimp or a peanut pork appetizer. BUT my favorite is their Sunday Brunch. I got free fruit and bread with my pumpkin almond pancakes. The spreads with the bread were original and yummy. I am REALLY impressed with their brunch and will be back again and again! Food prices are good but drinks are more than the college bars around town...but well worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing special...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Pricey food and appetizers, slow preparation of food, three meals served 15 minutes before the 4th. Inexcusable when you consider the 4th was Ahi Tuna!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tshubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing