We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay as usual!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Fresnos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Chachalaca Bend
Ranked #1 of 1 Los Fresnos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
League City, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay as usual!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were a little apprehensive about our stay at the inn this year since it has changed ownership, but we found the same wonderful place this year that we have come to love over the past 7 - 8 years. The rooms are comfortably and stylishly furnished and the bedding is wonderful. The breakfasts were just as yummy and generous as they have been in the past - maybe even a little better. Although Terri admits to not being a birder, she did put out birdseed and citrus fruit in the feeders to attract the colorful birds that live in and migrate through that area. We hope that the bed and breakfast continues to operate for years to come.

Room Tip: We always choose rooms upstairs where we sit for hours on the balcony watching and listening for bir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dolphincarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
49
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a great place to spend some time. It is beautiful and caters to those who enjoy the outdoors. Except for once I have had to leave before breakfast was served (somewhere between 7:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.), but that one time it was exceptional! The bird watching is great and if you don't do that walking down the paths or sitting in the gardens or next to the resaca are great also. I prefer the upstairs rooms. The view is terrific. This place is super popular so book early.

Room Tip: There are two downstairs room with doors opening into theparking area. No problem maybe, but when I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarus v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChachalacaBend, Manager at The Inn at Chachalaca Bend, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the great review. Come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We thought this was the classiest, most beautiful, restful and romantic place we have ever traveled to. Great short hikes, bird watching. Wonderful full breakfasts, fresh fruit, close to South Padre and fishing. Nice people running this place, interested in how they can assist you with maps, etc. We will be back!

Room Tip: If you stay on second floor you have your own huge veranda. We stayed in the Green Jay-it was awesom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarab74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChachalacaBend, Manager at The Inn at Chachalaca Bend, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks Sara! It was a pleasure having you. Hope you can make it back again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Inn at Chachalaca Bend is an elegant B&B outside of Los Fresnos. We were birders there to experience the Brownsville area, and specifically were headed to Laguna Atascosa, which is relatively close by. Our plans had changed slightly, and the staff was very accommodating and flexible. And, the breakfast was really outstanding. We didn't get anything like that anywhere else. Even if you aren't birders, you will enjoy the beautiful setting, trails on the property and the quiet relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat-Man-IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChachalacaBend, Manager at The Inn at Chachalaca Bend, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We sure wish you both could have stayed around longer, but understand that plans change. Hope the rest of your trip was relaxing and enjoyable. Come again, when you can stay a little longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Recently we spend 4 nights at the Inn at Chachalaca Bend as part of our Southern Texas birding trip. Located on a 40 acre property along a Resaca, the Inn and the grounds did not disappoint us. It was very quiet and relaxing to stay here for several days. Our room, the Belted Kingfisher, was spacious and had a warm feel to it. Nice soft towels and bath robes were provided as well. Unlike several other B&B where we have stayed in the past, we had a scrumptious breakfast each day. Breakfast included fresh fruit, coffee, eggs, homemade salsa (which was delicious), pancakes, muffins and various other items. Breakfast was far more extensive than expected. The staff was very friendly and was readily to help out as needed. Thanks to Tommie and Terri for making our stay so relaxing.

The B&B is centrally located to various local birding locations. Within a 30 minute drive you can easily reach Laguna Atascosa, South Padre Island, Audubon Sable Palm, and Old Port Isabel Rd. However, do not overlook the Inn grounds. With waterfront access, a bird blind, and a prairie many specialty birds were found including Green Jay, Buff-bellied Hummingbird, Crested Caracara, White-tailed Hawk, Olive Sparrow, Altamira Oriole, and White-tipped Dove. I found over 65 species while birding at the Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChachalacaBend, Manager at The Inn at Chachalaca Bend, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We enjoyed having you both with us and invite you back anytime. You are the kind of guests that make our jobs FUN :)

The Staff of The Inn at Chachalaca Bend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I usually don't leave reviews, but after reading the previous review, I need to. My husband and I are weekend birders and we stayed at this beautiful Inn last month for 3 nights. It was one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever experienced! The new manager, Terri, was so delightful, even though she was having to handle everything from cooking to cleaning because her help had to leave for a family emergency.

Yes, there are some areas of the property that weren't maintained by the previous owners, but the organization that purchased it is aware of these issues and is working hard to get things back in to tip-top shape.

There were feeders out in several areas of the property and birds in abundance.
The room we stayed in was immaculate and the breakfast each morning was delicious.

Thanks Terri, for making our stay so enjoyable and God bless you as you continue doing a fantastic job!

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loverofbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChachalacaBend, Manager at The Inn at Chachalaca Bend, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you, so much, for your positive, encouraging review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to you coming again!

It is so much fun to have guests in that appreciate your hard work and that are encouraging each day of their stay.

We value honest feedback and do listen to concerns and criticisms and are working hard to correct/repair those things that need attention, in a timely manner.

Thanks again for your encouragement and please come again.

Terri Best
Manager
The Inn at Chachalaca Bend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have wanted to stay at this inn for many years and I finally booked two nights for the beginning of my Rio Grande Valley birding trip. First, the inn itself. The Green Jay room was small but tastefully furnished. It opened onto the part of the balcony that was the short side of an "L", so there was a small bit of privacy. The room lighting was bright. The bath was large enough, with beautiful tile in earth tones. Towels were large and soft. On the other hand, the inn is an old, wooden structure, with thin walls and creaky hardwood floors. I was lucky not to have noisy people as fellow guests, because voices in the living room downstairs can be heard in all the rooms upstairs. Least pleasant was the television sound coming from one room.
The property itself is beautifully situated on a resaca, and I spent some time there scanning for hawks and water birds. Across the resaca is a neighborhood, and there was almost always a barking dog somewhere. Most people would not even notice this, but I hear everything, so this was annoying. (You cannot hear the dogs from your room.) The rest of the property consists of south Texas woodland and an extensive prairie, with a nature trail winding through. There were very few birds, though. After reading the reviews, I expected this to be a "birdy" property, but the new owners no longer put out feeders, with the exception of one hummingbird feeder. The inn was sold to a missionary organization in December, and the hostess, Terry, is not a birder. There were birding magazines in the common room, but if you want personal information about where to go, you will not find it here. Fortunately, I know the Valley birding areas very well; in fact, I was able to help two fellow guests with directions.
There are also security and safety issues. Terry lives off-site, and there appears to be no one on the premises at night. Some of the railings at the resaca dock are unstable, so there is high accident potential there. There is a gazebo on the prairie, and it is a lovely place to sit and relax, but it is in disrepair. Terry is aware of these issues, but I suspect the owners are struggling to fund everything that needs to be done.
In the end, I found my experience disappointing, and I was sad to realize that this old inn will eventually become R and R housing for missionaries returning from the field.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms face outside and to the back, with nice views. The two downstairs rooms open on to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buthraupis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChachalacaBend, Manager at The Inn at Chachalaca Bend, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our property. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at The Inn at Chachalaca Bend, especially after looking forward to your visit for so long. Not having your expectations met is disappointing, we know, and we encourage our guests to voice any concerns that they may have, while they are here, so that we can try and address the issues.

We are sorry you did not notice the three large platform feeders we have placed around the Inn, that attracts various birds throughout the day. One is directly in front of the parking area, one is next to the fountain, in the front garden area, and the other is on the back corner of the Inn, where guests can see birds feeding in the morning, as they are eating breakfast.

Thank you for noticing our new towels :) and the beautiful decor of your room. We do want our guests to be comfortable while staying with us.

This property has changed ownership and is now owned by To Every Tribe Ministries. We are working hard to make sure that this beautiful Inn, Lodge and lush landscape are maintained as a place where people can come to relax and enjoy the quiet, peaceful surroundings so unique to this area. Our plans are to continue to offer it to the public and look forward to meeting guests from around the country that come and stay with us.

Thank you for your help in guiding some of our other guests to birding places that you are familiar with in our area. That was most helpful and appreciated.

We hope the remainder of your trip to the Rio Grande area was enjoyable and hope you will continue to come to this area in the future.

Terri Best
Manager
The Inn at Chachalaca Bend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Fresnos
3.2 mi away
Los Fresnos Inn & Suites
Los Fresnos Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Los Fresnos
19 reviews
17.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,556 reviews
17.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,250 reviews
16.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#9 of 17 in Harlingen
17 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Chachalaca Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Chachalaca Bend

Property: The Inn at Chachalaca Bend
Address: 36298 Chachalaca Bend, Los Fresnos, TX 78566-4988
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Los Fresnos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Los Fresnos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 miles from South Padre Island and 12 miles north of Mexico, outside of Los Fresnos, Texas, is one of the best kept secret travel destinations in the state. The Inn at Chachalaca Bend presents 40 acres of unspoiled country paradise with beautiful wildlife, natural lake frontage and luxury accommodations that are popular with year round birdwatchers, fishermen or those who seek only to pamper themselves with the ultimate escape and relaxation. Close to the finest beaches on the Texas Gulf Coast, yet far from the crowds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing