We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have to disagree” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Chachalaca Bend

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Fresnos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Chachalaca Bend
Ranked #1 of 1 Los Fresnos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Have to disagree”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I usually don't leave reviews, but after reading the previous review, I need to. My husband and I are weekend birders and we stayed at this beautiful Inn last month for 3 nights. It was one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever experienced! The new manager, Terri, was so delightful, even though she was having to handle everything from cooking to cleaning because her help had to leave for a family emergency.

Yes, there are some areas of the property that weren't maintained by the previous owners, but the organization that purchased it is aware of these issues and is working hard to get things back in to tip-top shape.

There were feeders out in several areas of the property and birds in abundance.
The room we stayed in was immaculate and the breakfast each morning was delicious.

Thanks Terri, for making our stay so enjoyable and God bless you as you continue doing a fantastic job!

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loverofbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChachalacaBend, Manager at The Inn at Chachalaca Bend, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you, so much, for your positive, encouraging review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to you coming again!

It is so much fun to have guests in that appreciate your hard work and that are encouraging each day of their stay.

We value honest feedback and do listen to concerns and criticisms and are working hard to correct/repair those things that need attention, in a timely manner.

Thanks again for your encouragement and please come again.

Terri Best
Manager
The Inn at Chachalaca Bend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
49
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have wanted to stay at this inn for many years and I finally booked two nights for the beginning of my Rio Grande Valley birding trip. First, the inn itself. The Green Jay room was small but tastefully furnished. It opened onto the part of the balcony that was the short side of an "L", so there was a small bit of privacy. The room lighting was bright. The bath was large enough, with beautiful tile in earth tones. Towels were large and soft. On the other hand, the inn is an old, wooden structure, with thin walls and creaky hardwood floors. I was lucky not to have noisy people as fellow guests, because voices in the living room downstairs can be heard in all the rooms upstairs. Least pleasant was the television sound coming from one room.
The property itself is beautifully situated on a resaca, and I spent some time there scanning for hawks and water birds. Across the resaca is a neighborhood, and there was almost always a barking dog somewhere. Most people would not even notice this, but I hear everything, so this was annoying. (You cannot hear the dogs from your room.) The rest of the property consists of south Texas woodland and an extensive prairie, with a nature trail winding through. There were very few birds, though. After reading the reviews, I expected this to be a "birdy" property, but the new owners no longer put out feeders, with the exception of one hummingbird feeder. The inn was sold to a missionary organization in December, and the hostess, Terry, is not a birder. There were birding magazines in the common room, but if you want personal information about where to go, you will not find it here. Fortunately, I know the Valley birding areas very well; in fact, I was able to help two fellow guests with directions.
There are also security and safety issues. Terry lives off-site, and there appears to be no one on the premises at night. Some of the railings at the resaca dock are unstable, so there is high accident potential there. There is a gazebo on the prairie, and it is a lovely place to sit and relax, but it is in disrepair. Terry is aware of these issues, but I suspect the owners are struggling to fund everything that needs to be done.
In the end, I found my experience disappointing, and I was sad to realize that this old inn will eventually become R and R housing for missionaries returning from the field.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms face outside and to the back, with nice views. The two downstairs rooms open on to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buthraupis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChachalacaBend, Manager at The Inn at Chachalaca Bend, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our property. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at The Inn at Chachalaca Bend, especially after looking forward to your visit for so long. Not having your expectations met is disappointing, we know, and we encourage our guests to voice any concerns that they may have, while they are here, so that we can try and address the issues.

We are sorry you did not notice the three large platform feeders we have placed around the Inn, that attracts various birds throughout the day. One is directly in front of the parking area, one is next to the fountain, in the front garden area, and the other is on the back corner of the Inn, where guests can see birds feeding in the morning, as they are eating breakfast.

Thank you for noticing our new towels :) and the beautiful decor of your room. We do want our guests to be comfortable while staying with us.

This property has changed ownership and is now owned by To Every Tribe Ministries. We are working hard to make sure that this beautiful Inn, Lodge and lush landscape are maintained as a place where people can come to relax and enjoy the quiet, peaceful surroundings so unique to this area. Our plans are to continue to offer it to the public and look forward to meeting guests from around the country that come and stay with us.

Thank you for your help in guiding some of our other guests to birding places that you are familiar with in our area. That was most helpful and appreciated.

We hope the remainder of your trip to the Rio Grande area was enjoyable and hope you will continue to come to this area in the future.

Terri Best
Manager
The Inn at Chachalaca Bend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was traveling on business and stayed at the Inn to avoid staying at the depressing, cookie cutter hotels on the expressway. It would have been so nice to just stay at the Inn and enjoy the beautiful grounds, which gracefully slope to a lovely, water-filled resaca. It was so peaceful and quiet at the Inn. Breakfast was delicious, especially the carrot muffins on the first day and the homemade raisin bread the next (I'd love to have the recipe). Breakfast included eggs, breakfast meat, fresh fruit, fresh-squeezed orange juice, coffee, and the wonderful breads, so far more than the continental breakfast that the Inn's website says it provides. What a great deal--peace, quiet, beauty, and good food! The Inn is off the beaten path, so a bit of a challenge to find at night--I recommend arriving the first day during the daylight hours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

A perfect base of operations for birding Cameron county. We stayed 5 nights at this beautiful, well maintained Inn. It sits on a quiet resaca complete with a private deck from where you can watch kingfishers, night herons, flycatchers, raptors, ducks and waders. A perfect, quiet place to experience the coming of sunset. The owners were very kind and gracious, yet unintrusive. Since we were up and on the road before sunrise each day, they let us make our own fresh coffee in the kitchen. As we loaded up each morning in the twilight, we could hear a Great Horned Owl pair hooting to each other and catch the flight of Common Pauraque going for an insect. The Inn itself was very tasteful, clean and inviting. We stayed on the ground floor in the spacious Kingfisher room, appointed with everything we needed or wanted, including bottled water each day and free wifi access. We birded the grounds on our last morning there and tallied 46 species. The Inn at Chachalaca Bend is a wonderful place to stay, and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

For birders, South Texas is a must, with several species not found anywhere else in the US. And if you're going to South Texas, you should stay in the premier spot in the Rio Grande Valley, the Inn at Chachalaca bend. It is like visiting family, except with gorgeous rooms and comfy common areas.

Although it is located near some of the top birding locales in the area, you can see quite a large variety of birds right off your porch. The balcony overlooks the resaca and all manner of waterfowl, flycatchers, hummingbirds, woodpeckers and, of course Chachalacas abound.

Breakfasts are varied and delicious, and they will leave you an early snack if you're the sort who likes to get out with the before dawn.

The inn is also popular for weddings and similar events, with gorgeous grounds, communal areas and a honeymoon hidaway in the woods.

Room Tip: Try to get one over the resaca for some spectacular views, though the whole balcony is open to all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

No frilly curtains or dusty potpourri at this B&B inn; strictly upscale and tasteful. Our “Hummingbird” room on the corner of the second floor of this very large home opened onto a broad communal wrap-around deck. A window on the side faced heavy foliage. In fact, the lush gardens on all sides insured privacy even with shades open. A room thermostat controlled HVAC from a central system for personal comfort.

Downstairs was a cozy library with gas fireplace. The breakfast room was huge. We were invited to specify our breakfast time (confirm this with the host) which allowed us to explore the property, enjoy the morning bird chorus and get some life birds (American Whistling Duck for me) before breakfast. Fresh coffee was ready for my early-rising wife at 6:30AM and another fresh pot was ready for our post-birding breakfast at 8:30AM. Breakfast was simple & traditional (eggs, sausage, fruit, juice, scones, toast) but freshly prepared, plentiful and excellent.

Whether you bird watch or just enjoy being out in nature, you would be shortchanging yourself if you didn’t also take the opportunity to walk along the adjacent resaca and climb up the observation tower as well as explore the 25 acre prairie savanna which is all part of the property. My plan was to arrive early the previous day but we got in late so we stayed till about 11AM the next day instead.

The quiet country environment comes at a small price as the Inn is 2 miles from Los Fresnos which isn’t much of a hamlet in itself. Your dinner options are few although I have to admit that our Mexican meal at Julia’s in town was uncomplicated, simple and fine. But if that doesn’t appeal you might consider bringing in your dinner from wherever you come and serving yourself in the breakfast room. Either way, give it some thought but don't let this deter you from staying here.

Inn owners are on premises and responsive to your needs. I’d bet I’m right to suspect that Jesse sleeps with his cell phone near him. I found him to be always available, gracious and helpful.

Room Tip: I liked the privacy of our room on the second floor in the house and carrying bags up was no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flatlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

The grounds of this inn were lovely. You really feel like you are in an oasis. We were on a photographic birding vacation. The location was great to explore the Laguna Atascosa NWR and South Padre Island. The inn-keepers were very attentive to our needs, but were never obtrusive. We loved the Kingfisher room, on ground level with a king bed and awesome large whirlpool tub! Breakfasts were bountiful and excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DigiscopingBirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Fresnos
17.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.2 mi away
Los Fresnos Inn & Suites
Los Fresnos Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Los Fresnos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
16.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Chachalaca Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Chachalaca Bend

Property: The Inn at Chachalaca Bend
Address: 36298 Chachalaca Bend, Los Fresnos, TX 78566-4988
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Los Fresnos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Los Fresnos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 miles from South Padre Island and 12 miles north of Mexico, outside of Los Fresnos, Texas, is one of the best kept secret travel destinations in the state. The Inn at Chachalaca Bend presents 40 acres of unspoiled country paradise with beautiful wildlife, natural lake frontage and luxury accommodations that are popular with year round birdwatchers, fishermen or those who seek only to pamper themselves with the ultimate escape and relaxation. Close to the finest beaches on the Texas Gulf Coast, yet far from the crowds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing