We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A birder's haven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Fresnos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Chachalaca Bend
Ranked #1 of 1 Los Fresnos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A birder's haven”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A perfect base of operations for birding Cameron county. We stayed 5 nights at this beautiful, well maintained Inn. It sits on a quiet resaca complete with a private deck from where you can watch kingfishers, night herons, flycatchers, raptors, ducks and waders. A perfect, quiet place to experience the coming of sunset. The owners were very kind and gracious, yet unintrusive. Since we were up and on the road before sunrise each day, they let us make our own fresh coffee in the kitchen. As we loaded up each morning in the twilight, we could hear a Great Horned Owl pair hooting to each other and catch the flight of Common Pauraque going for an insect. The Inn itself was very tasteful, clean and inviting. We stayed on the ground floor in the spacious Kingfisher room, appointed with everything we needed or wanted, including bottled water each day and free wifi access. We birded the grounds on our last morning there and tallied 46 species. The Inn at Chachalaca Bend is a wonderful place to stay, and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
51
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

For birders, South Texas is a must, with several species not found anywhere else in the US. And if you're going to South Texas, you should stay in the premier spot in the Rio Grande Valley, the Inn at Chachalaca bend. It is like visiting family, except with gorgeous rooms and comfy common areas.

Although it is located near some of the top birding locales in the area, you can see quite a large variety of birds right off your porch. The balcony overlooks the resaca and all manner of waterfowl, flycatchers, hummingbirds, woodpeckers and, of course Chachalacas abound.

Breakfasts are varied and delicious, and they will leave you an early snack if you're the sort who likes to get out with the before dawn.

The inn is also popular for weddings and similar events, with gorgeous grounds, communal areas and a honeymoon hidaway in the woods.

Room Tip: Try to get one over the resaca for some spectacular views, though the whole balcony is open to all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

No frilly curtains or dusty potpourri at this B&B inn; strictly upscale and tasteful. Our “Hummingbird” room on the corner of the second floor of this very large home opened onto a broad communal wrap-around deck. A window on the side faced heavy foliage. In fact, the lush gardens on all sides insured privacy even with shades open. A room thermostat controlled HVAC from a central system for personal comfort.

Downstairs was a cozy library with gas fireplace. The breakfast room was huge. We were invited to specify our breakfast time (confirm this with the host) which allowed us to explore the property, enjoy the morning bird chorus and get some life birds (American Whistling Duck for me) before breakfast. Fresh coffee was ready for my early-rising wife at 6:30AM and another fresh pot was ready for our post-birding breakfast at 8:30AM. Breakfast was simple & traditional (eggs, sausage, fruit, juice, scones, toast) but freshly prepared, plentiful and excellent.

Whether you bird watch or just enjoy being out in nature, you would be shortchanging yourself if you didn’t also take the opportunity to walk along the adjacent resaca and climb up the observation tower as well as explore the 25 acre prairie savanna which is all part of the property. My plan was to arrive early the previous day but we got in late so we stayed till about 11AM the next day instead.

The quiet country environment comes at a small price as the Inn is 2 miles from Los Fresnos which isn’t much of a hamlet in itself. Your dinner options are few although I have to admit that our Mexican meal at Julia’s in town was uncomplicated, simple and fine. But if that doesn’t appeal you might consider bringing in your dinner from wherever you come and serving yourself in the breakfast room. Either way, give it some thought but don't let this deter you from staying here.

Inn owners are on premises and responsive to your needs. I’d bet I’m right to suspect that Jesse sleeps with his cell phone near him. I found him to be always available, gracious and helpful.

Room Tip: I liked the privacy of our room on the second floor in the house and carrying bags up was no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flatlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The grounds of this inn were lovely. You really feel like you are in an oasis. We were on a photographic birding vacation. The location was great to explore the Laguna Atascosa NWR and South Padre Island. The inn-keepers were very attentive to our needs, but were never obtrusive. We loved the Kingfisher room, on ground level with a king bed and awesome large whirlpool tub! Breakfasts were bountiful and excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DigiscopingBirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We chose this inn because of reviews on TripAdvisor-- but I guess I needed to read between the lines or something. We chose the Green Jay room on the second floor, and when we arrived were very happy with it-- lovely end room, so the wrap around deck that goes past all rooms ended (or began) at our room, so we doubted anyone would be walking by. True. But our room was right over the kitchen. The facility has tile floors, and the sound of the help arriving about 6AM to prepare breakfast was very noticeable-- even though they tried to be quiet.....But we were actually awakened before that by the digital quadruple beep of the alarm in the room next to us (pretty thin walls) at about the same time..... and then the repeated opening and closing of the door to that same room next to ours-- which was about three feet away (the room doors are at a right angle to each other since our room was straight ahead at the end of the hall, and the next room was the last room at the long side of the hall). In addition, those people went up and down the stairs repeatedly, and the noise travels -- wood floors and tile -- no rugs... and every time they opened and shut the front door (about 12 times ), our room door jiggled and clinked from the air movement. No more sleep.
Since this is a birders' place, I finally got up a little after 7, went out on the deck off our room-- and was treated to the roaring sound of traffic noise-- which went on until about 8 when the commute must have been over (we did not notice any noise the Sunday evening before -- we arrived about 4, and were up and about outside until about 9). Then there was also the sound of the industrial strength kitchen exhaust about ten feet away from our end of the balcony-- at that point I gave up on listening for birds from the deck off our room.
Staff were nice, but only there to greet us when we checked in, and then we saw no one again until the persons put out breakfast and disappeared back into the kitchen in the morning.
This is definitely an Inn more than a B&B. The house is lovely inside and out. The grounds are nice, the dock on the riverfront is too. The old dog who walked with us about the place was the most contact we had with anyone while we were there. And this does not come cheap (at least from our perpective-- $164 for the smallest room). The room is very nice, but the jacuzzi tub in the room is only good for one-- unless you are both very small and/or acrobatic.
Very nice breakfast, wine and mixed nuts the evening before. There were some cute little valentine doilies and candies about as well (We were there on Feb. 13th). And we saw the Chachalaka birds for sure.
All in all, physically lovely place, but missing ambience altogether.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lilyb0dge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Perfect in every way. I have never had a better experience and don't expect to any time soon.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intlpvti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

WOW! Everything here was done first class. Our room was beautiful, large, comfortable and I could just keep adding ajectives. The luxurious robes for after our showers was anothe nice amenity. The breakfast room had wine and beer available at all times for the guests. The grounds around the Inn have been managed in a way to attract birds. The loud Chachalaca's that visited the trees around the ground made for an exciting experience. Add to that all the kingfishers and waterfowl that frequented the river alongside the Inn and you begin to get a picture.. Probably the highlight of our trip was seeing an Easter screech owl that was on a tree just outside the breakfast room one night.
The Inn is in the perfect location to use it as a home base while visiting Laguna Atascosa NWR, South Padre Island and even the Brownsville area for birding.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IronLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Fresnos
3.2 mi away
Los Fresnos Inn & Suites
Los Fresnos Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Los Fresnos
19 reviews
17.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,571 reviews
17.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,258 reviews
16.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#9 of 17 in Harlingen
17 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Chachalaca Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Chachalaca Bend

Property: The Inn at Chachalaca Bend
Address: 36298 Chachalaca Bend, Los Fresnos, TX 78566-4988
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Los Fresnos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Los Fresnos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 miles from South Padre Island and 12 miles north of Mexico, outside of Los Fresnos, Texas, is one of the best kept secret travel destinations in the state. The Inn at Chachalaca Bend presents 40 acres of unspoiled country paradise with beautiful wildlife, natural lake frontage and luxury accommodations that are popular with year round birdwatchers, fishermen or those who seek only to pamper themselves with the ultimate escape and relaxation. Close to the finest beaches on the Texas Gulf Coast, yet far from the crowds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing