We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"""BAD BAD TERRIBLE SERVICE ! NEVER AGAIN”
Review of Julia's Restaurant

Julia's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Los Fresnos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Austin, Texas
1 review
“"""BAD BAD TERRIBLE SERVICE ! NEVER AGAIN”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stopped at Julias on our way back from South Padre. I have 4 kiddos that were craving Tacos and came across this Cuisine. We got there and we ordered our food and after 45 minutes not once did our waitress came to us to keep us posted about our food . My 3 year old waiting for his pancakes and as I promised him they were coming out ... Others that got there after us were already eating BREAKFAST too they ordered. They tried to blame it on the breakfast we ordered due to they were cooking Lunch plates too . What was funny is that our waitress was too busy talking and other waitresses were being more concern about us. People notuced the terrible service we received and they kept starrinng at us due to they notice how long we had been there . TERRIBLE IN CAPITAL LETTERS >> & After Me asking for the Owner she comes out with nothing good ! It Hurt me to see my boys walk out of there crying being hungry after a ridiculous HOUR of sitting in the dark with empty glasses and two menus when we were 6 ! OH Yes they said they didnt have enough menus ! So RIDICULOUS ! Sorry People UNPROFESSIONAL !

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I love their Tampiquena it is delicious very nice service and friendly staff. I love the one at los fresnos tx.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Naida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Breakfast Tacos to die for!!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stopped in at Julia's to get tacos for breakfast on our way out of South Padre. Unfortunately we didnt know how large they were!!! My husband ordered 2 for each of us and unless you are a very big eater...dont do it!!! They were huge and heavy with filling.
The tortillias were homemade and delicious!!! LOVED these TACOS!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jbh3ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Vista, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful small town cafe”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Julia's has great Tex-Mex and hamburgers. Their enchiladas are their specialty. Just walk in and find a seat and they'll take care of you. The atmosphere is very relaxed and small-town cafeish but the food is great.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brady, TX, USA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An American Success Story”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

From the menu, my understanding is that Julia worked in several restaurants and the school cafeteria before getting the chance to open her own restaurant. Now, it's been here 20 years! The young man working at the cash register is headed to UT this fall. He may or may not be Julia's son, but I detected a congenial, family atmosphere from the staff here. But I digress. On to the food. I tried the a la carte Beef Fajita tacos. These were served open face with avocado, grilled onions, queso fresco, and an addicting avocado salsa. They were very tasty. My husband is a native of the border and found his food great as well as did our son. We enjoyed Julia's and recommend it if you are passing through Los Fresnos.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julia's Restaurant also viewed

Los Fresnos, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Los Fresnos, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Los Fresnos, Texas Gulf Coast
Los Fresnos, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Julia's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing