We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food / Rude Poor Service”
Review of El Sombrero

El Sombrero
Ranked #32 of 228 Restaurants in Longview
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food / Rude Poor Service”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Food is always very good but the wait staff is very rude. Most of the staff are hispanic and act as if they are doing you a favor to wait on you. Throw the plate down in front of you and walk off kind of service. Nothing makes me more angry then a waiter that will not let you finish ordering before they are trying to walk off. We eat here frequently and this is always the case. Maybe if the owner would get up from the bar and actually run her business the staff would be more friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpd230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Owner is Exceptional”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Supprised to read a bad review about the owner. I have spent many years managing and teaching customer service. This is probably the most efficient and customer oriented restaurant I have happened into. I always watch the service and "systems" used in a business. All employees move at a very fast pace to insure u are taken care of, but none faster than the owner himself (no doubt setting the example). He most often visits every table to make sure all is well. The recipes are his own, all from scratch. I spent many years in South Texas and in Mexico and have had no better Mexican food. This restaurant should be held up as a model as to what an entrepreneur can do! The Mother of the owner works the cash register (not a bad idea) and due to the large volume and lines doesn't have time for chit chat lest patrons become irritated. I consider the review entitle "Bad Owner" to be Drama written by someone ignorant of what it takes to run a first class business. I'll take good food and good service over drama. First review or comment ever for me!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ore City, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rude owner”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Owner/mother is ALWAYS abrupt and rude every time I go in there. And she doesn't seem to care when you call her on it. The only reason I keep going back is because my little girl likes their green sauce.

Helpful?
2 Thank Texasdeans_1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hole in the wall..”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Just say white cheese...always fresh...authentic texmex..

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This place has grown a lot in the last year - because the food is great and so is the service. (usually) Not your standard Tex-Mex offerings.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero also viewed

 

Been to El Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing