We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home cooked breakfast”
Review of City Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
City Diner
Ranked #99 of 228 Restaurants in Longview
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good home cooked breakfast”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I decided to try this out after church. The staff was very friendly and kept my coffee full. I ordered a ham and cheese omelet with hash browns and toast. It was very good and the price was right. Definitely a great alternative to the Ihops and Dennys of the world. Worth every penny.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCTREV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Eggs Were Perfect”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Eggs were ordered "over easy" and that was how they came. Centers were soft and just right for dipping your toast; no runny whites. Hash browns were just right; crusty on the outside and soft in the center. My husbands bacon had no fat, yet was not overly done or burnt. Grits were good, and the biscuits were fluffy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank corvettegirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Never disappointed!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We go to the City Diner at least once a month when we are in Longview. We have never been disappointed. Great service, good food. Their Greek Salad is so big that I have to take half of it home. They have a special everyday and very well priced. You will not go away hungry. Don't expect fancy, just friendly and good food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaCarthage_Tx_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Step back into the 60's and eat breakfast here”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

City Diner has the feel of a 60's diner with the white walls, tile floor and linoleum topped tables. The food and service is good. The atmosphere kind of makes you think of a hospital with all of that white. Breakfast items are priced very reasonabliy and they were doing a good business on Saturday morning. There was not anything outstanding at City Diner to make you want to come back, but it is a good place to eat if you need breakfast.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smith23181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Diner also viewed

 

Been to City Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing