We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay clean rooms friendly people great location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Longview
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Longview
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    129
    98
    63
    37
See reviews for
224
60
31
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have stayed at this property many times and not had any real issues. However, during me last stay I was disgusted by the amount of large bettles I found (alive) in my room. I killed at least 6 bugs during my stay. I understand that the warmer weather has increased the insect population in this area, but Wingate should have prepared for that. When I asked the front desk what the issue was, I was told that Orkin was scheduled to come out. They should have already treated this property to avoid this situation. I will not be returning to this property again and I stay in Longview 2-3 nights per week for business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateLongview, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Longview, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I want to apologies again for the beetle situation that we are experiencing in Longview. As you mentioned, we have Orkin come out and spray the property every month and had them out an additional time in June in hopes to minimize the beetles from coming in. They have assured us that mating season in only another week and they will be gone. Sorry for any inconvenience this may have cause you during your stay. We hope you will give us another oppertunity next time you are in Longview.

Becky Brooks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Below is the letter I left at the front desk for the manager:

June 16, 2013

Dear Management Staff,

Normally, I wouldn’t waste my time in writing a letter of this nature, but I feel obligated to share my experiences with the management at Wingate by Wyndham to hopefully prevent other guests from having a similar experience.

I arrived at the Wingate by Wyndham Hotel in Longview, TX on June 14, 2013. After checking in, I drove around to the other side of the building to enter through the door next to the elevators. Me and my children emptied our luggage out of our car and headed for the door.
I tried several times to get my key card to open the door, but had no success. Little did I know that this was probably an ominous sign of things to come. I set down my luggage and walked around the building to the front of the hotel. I thought I might have demagnetized my key
card by putting it in my pocket next to my cell phone. I asked the attendant at the front desk if the side door was working and she stated, “No, that door has been broken for a while; we are a waiting on a part.” I thought to myself: It would be nice if I was given that information a few minutes ago when I checked in. It would also be nice if as a courtesy to its customers, someone would have put a sign on the door notifying exhausted travelers that the door was not functional.

I was going to take to a “quick” shower before going to bed and could not seem to get the shower to work. I pulled on the knob just above the faucet expecting water to start raining down from the shower head above. Unfortunately, nothing came out. I pulled even harder, actually with all of my strength and finally a small stream of water came trickling out of the shower head. I figured that was probably the best that I was going to get. I was wondering why both of my
children had taken baths when normally they took showers, but now I had the answer to that mystery. As I reached down to unwrap the hotel bar of soap, I saw several areas around the grouting that had several large pieces missing as well as mildew. This was surprising to me
because anyone that cleaned the bathtub, if it had been cleaned, would have noticed this.
It was late when we arrived and we were exhausted from driving 2 ½ hours and spending several hours out in the heat watching my daughter play in a softball tournament. I was ready to crawl into the bed when I pulled back the sheets and noticed that there were pen marks
scribbled all over the sheets at my point of entry. It wasn’t just a few marks it looked like a five year-old had written a short story on the linens. I turned on the light to make sure I was seeing things correctly hoping that maybe I was just weary from the day. As I pushed the button for the bedside light and the room suddenly lit up by the luminescence of the bulb, I notice a large splatter stain on the wall. It looked like someone had knocked over a drink which in turn, left its mark on the wall. My gaze drifted back to the sheets where I discovered that my initial assessment was correct. In addition, I noticed a tear in the sheet as well as a stain. I walked
around to the other side of the bed and turned on the other lamp. I discovered another large splatter stain on the wall. At that point I was fairly certain the sheets had not been washed, which was a disturbing observation.

I called the front desk to report my findings and request another set of linens be brought up to my room. It was 12:05am. Mind you it was midnight and I was beyond tired. Around 12:50am, I received a call from the front desk asking me if I was still needing a new set of sheets. I am not sure if the front desk forgot or was hoping that I had fallen asleep. I said, “Yes!” and hung up the phone. Another 20 minutes passed by, when finally there was a knock at the door. We
made our OWN bed and went to sleep.

The next morning, I was greeted by a knock (unannounced) at the door and greeted by F-. I decided I would invite her in so that I could show her what the problem was with the bathtub faucet, as well as the spills lining the walls. I turned on the bathtub faucet and pulled on the knob for the shower demonstrating for her how no water came out of the shower head. I grasped the knob again and again, I pulled it as hard as I could and a small stream of water came trickling out of the shower head. She said she would contact maintenance to see if they could come and take a look at it. A short period of time later, I received a call from F- stating that she had talked with maintenance. She reported that maintenance said, “You can pull the knob really hard and that they would be out on Monday.” It is hard to believe that a hotel of this size would not have a maintenance worker on call for situations like this. Later that afternoon, I received a call from F- stating that she was unable to reach her manager. She said she was going to move us to a suite and “comp” our stay. Unfortunately, she said the only rooms that were available were rooms with one king bed. I told her this would not work because I had two of my children with me and I wasn’t going to leave them in their room alone. She said she would see what she could do. I told her I would check in with her when I returned to the hotel.

I stopped by the front desk when I came in and she told me she had a suite for us to stay in. Once again, I asked her if she had reached her manager and she said that she had, but that the manager only approved her decision to “comp” the room for us. Working as an administrator in a hospital, feedback from our patients is very important to us. Similarly, I would think the management at Wingate by Wyndham would appreciate the feedback from its guests, especially when they have a negative experience. I walked away from the desk thinking that the manager was just trying to pacify me by offering to “comp” my stay.

I collected the key cards and headed to my first room. We packed up our belongings and headed up the stairs to the 4th floor at the other end of the building. When I walked into the room, it was extremelyhot. I turned on the lights and discovered that both of the air conditioners were turned off. The room had two window units and I noticed that one of them had the front cover pulled off and was partially disassembled and several screws laying next to it. I plugged the unit back into the outlet and turned it on. The air coming out was as hot as the air permeating the room. I turned it off and headed to the other unit. I turned it on and found that the air blowing out of the vents was somewhat cooler. I called back down to the front desk and explained the situation. F- searched through her available rooms and said that she had two rooms that were close together, but not adjoined. I asked her if one unit would be enough
to cool the room and she ensured me that one unit would adequately cool the room.

We finally got everything moved to the new room. About 30 minutes later a lady (stranger) opens our door. As she starts to enter the room, she apparently notices that the room was already occupied. The lady left the door open and I followed her out. She said she had just
checked in and was given key cards to the room we were staying in. I called down to the front desk and another attendant answered. I explained to her the awkward situation that had just occurred. She apologized and said that her computer system showed that the room was
available. I was extremely thankful that I was not standing in the room naked.

When you turn on the TV in the room, you are instantly tuned in to the Wingate by Wyndham station streaming two alternating commercials boasting of “lots of extras at no extra cost”. As a browsed the list of “extras”, I noticed that air conditioning was not on the list. Living in Texas, I could care less about any other extras if the air conditioner is broken. When we woke up on Sunday morning it was evident by the dampness of my clothing that both air conditioners were
broken. I stopped by the front desk on the way out to inform F- not to rent the room to anyone else until it was fixed. Her demeanor was less accommodating than on the previous day, I suspect because she knew we would soon be making our departure. Then the thought occurred to me that maybe they offer the suite as punishment for those making a complaint. I will have to admit, the lure of a large spacious suite definitely sucked me in, but when the temperature outside is pushing 100 degrees having an air conditioner that works properly is a
necessity.

I felt like I deserved the courtesy of a phone call by management at Wingate by Wyndham. When someone rents a room at a hotel, there is a certain expectation that their stay will be hassle-free. Comping our room was the minimum that the manager could have done for the many inconveniences that we experienced. A phone call from the manager would have been an appropriate response, especially when I requested to speak with someone from the management team at least three times.It was apparent that even the employees were frustrated by not being able to reach a manger by telephone on weekends based on their responses to my request. There should be a manager available for employees to contact at all times. It is a good thing that there was not an emergency at the hotel or that someone had not been injured
while at the hotel. This is unacceptable for guests, as well as employees. There was nothing relaxing about my stay at the Wingate by Wyndham. One would think that with as many other hotels as there are within walking distance, that the management would be concerned about
providing quality accommodations. I will say that all of the employees that I encountered were very polite and showed or at least faked concern for my maladies, but seemed to lack the resources to remedy the situation. Faith in particular was attentive and attempted to fix my concerns. In my opinion, there is a serious derelict of duty by the management of the hotel.

Unfortunately, the most critical loss for me is the three daysof my time off from work, which was not even remotely relaxing. I have stayed a several Wyndham Vacation Resorts in the past and have always been more than satisfied. Hopefully not all Wingate by Wyndham Hotels are ran so poorly, but I am not likely to stay at one in the future. With so many choices available, I will likely stay at a Marriott or Hilton in the future. Time is valuable to all of us and aside from the time I spent at my daughter’s softball game, Wingate by Wyndham has wasted a lot of mine this weekend.

Disgusted Traveler

A final note: I had to return to our initial room to retrieve my daughter's bathing suit. The room was in the process of being "cleaned", but I noticed that the stains on the walls and missing grout in the bathroom was just that, still missing. I can only conclude that the next set of guests to arrive will discover the same inconveniences that we did..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SemperAmemvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateLongview, Director of Operations at Wingate by Wyndham Longview, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to speak with me personally regarding your stay in Longview. I will address your concerns with our entire team to ensure your experience will not occur with future guests. Receiving Guest feedback is the best way to evaluate how to improve ourselves and learn what we can do better in the future. Your experience will be used in our future training programs.

Becky Butcher
Director Of Operations
East Texas Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Longview hotels

Mckinney
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Longview Texas hotel. We were very satisified with everything except the location. One must wind their way through a maze to reach it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateLongview, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Longview, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Alicia,
Thank you for allowing us to be your layover in Longview. It is always our goal to provide you not only good service but a great value. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and hope the rest of your trip was a great success.
Becky Brooks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel as a layover on our drive to Houston, TX from Nashville, TN. The lobby was very warm and welcoming. The rooms were a little dated but spacious and the free breakfast the next morning was good. Available was cold and hot cereal, a waffle station, biscuits and gravy, pastries, scrambled eggs, etc. Overall, the stay was good for the price. Would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateLongview, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Longview, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Alicia,
Thank you for allowing us to be your layover in Longview. It is always our goal to provide you not only good service but a great value. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and hope the rest of your trip was a great success.
Becky Brooks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great place to stay .. staff is very friendly .. close to good places to eat .. everything is conveniently close shopping,eating and recreation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Jorge H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateLongview, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Longview, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you Arnold for recognizing our teams hard work. It is everyone’s goal here at the Wingate to ensure your stay is the best it can be. I will pass along your comments to everyone. See you next time you are in town.
Becky Brooks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longview hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Longview
Best Western Longview
#3 of 34 in Longview
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Longview North
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Longview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 34 in Longview
38 reviews
6.9 mi away
Days Inn Longview South
Days Inn Longview South
#5 of 34 in Longview
412 reviews
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 34 in Longview
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Longview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Longview

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Longview
Address: 431 North East Loop 281, Longview, TX 75605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Longview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Longview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Longview 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Longview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Longview Hotel Longview
Wingate Hotel Longview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing