We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12+ Year Loyal Hilton HHonors Member - This is the worst!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Longview
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Longview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I honestly don't even know where to begin. I was traveling with a group of 9. Each of us with our own room. Hotel management called on two occasions to get us to cancel our reservations, which we did not want to do since there were 9 of us, each with our own reservations. The hotel ultimately cancelled all of our rooms without notification or our consent.

The reason's given were different each time. I was told that they had to make room for people displaced by a hurricane...all other hotels in the area still had a large number of rooms available so this was a lie. When I questioned that, I was told they since the Homewoods rooms were nicer they were better suited for the people from the hurricaine that would have long, extended stays, and that since we were only there for one night we didn't need rooms like they have at the Homewood. Next we were told that they had guests already staying at the hotel that decided to extend their stay (nevermind that their reservations did not cover the time period we were supposed to be staying there). Next we were told that there was a large group of people with a family reunion that needed our rooms. I asked the hotel manager if any other guests were being asked to move to another hotel in another town and I was told that I did not need to know that information, that it was priveleged information and that I would not be given it. The hotel offered no other compensation for us other than to block some rooms for us at a Hampton Inn in a different town at the same rate.To top it all off, I was accused of hanging up the phone on the hotel, when the cell phone I was using dropped the call. Seriously! You can't make this stuff up.

GOOD BYE HILTON HOTELS - YOU ARE OFFICIALLY THE WORST

ex-Hilton HHonors member

Room Tip: You can choose a good room...but that doesn't mean you will even get a room at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mach_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudreyWhitten, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Longview, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We are very sorry that we couldn't accomodate you during your groups recent trip to Longview. We appreciate your understanding in an abnormal situation - we hate to turn any guest away. We've given your review to our front office team and hope to avoid this situation in the future. Please accept our deepest apologies for this unfortunate circumstance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 295 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

Came to Longview for a professional course, and the location was near the facility. I was pleasantly surprised with the spacious accommodations (first Homewood Suites stay) that I was to inhabit for 4 nights, when a substandard place would have sufficed. M-Th breakfast and dinner were provided, which saved me some money. The front desk staff was very professional. I had one minor/irregular issue that the manager addressed very promptly. As a runner I became accutely aware that Longview doesn't have a sidewalk system that I was able to see, but there is a wonderful hike/bike trail around the corner to the south and west of the hotel called the Paul Boorman Trail, which runs through the tall pines from Marshall/Hwy80 to Hwy281. I easily satisfied my 5 mile run requirements on the trail. I will be back with my family. Oh yeah, there was plenty of TV for a guy who wasn't looking for it, a full-sized ironing board, free wi-fi, full fridge, stove, microwave, little coffee maker, etc. I have stayed in upper-end places that nickle and dime you for amenities, but it isn't policy at this place.

Room Tip: I found the top floor to be quiet. Facing the east got noisy on Thursday night with a favorite bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lp c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Great value with breakfast and evening meal. Staff is very friendly. You might ask for rooms away from street. It can get loud from traffic some nights. Nice and clean and in good location. Has several laundry machines and nice outdoor pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dabailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Overall had a good stay at the Homewood Suites in Longview. Property is well maintained, but need of update in certain areas. The rooms are clean, interior can be worked on. Breakfast/Eating areas are nice and clean. Breakfast which is included, has the basics (bread, cereal, juice, fruits, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, waffles etc.) for your early start of the day. The manager's welcome dinner (bbq at times etc. with beer/wine) is a nice touch and certainly stands out, when you want to grab something light before heading for dinner. Overall a nice hotel with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms on the main wing, as walking can be tiresome to get to the breakfast area etc. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDP2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My family stayed at this hotel for my daughter's wedding at the nearby LeTourneau University. We had reserved a non smoking king/double queen suite. When we got to our room, we could smell smoke which had be masked with a heavily scented fragrance refreshener. My husband is allergic to smoke and febreeze-type fragrances. We spoke with the desk clerk and he said he didn't have another room like that one for that night, but he would give us a discount for that room and try to get us moved to another room the next night. The next day we were relocated to a room that had been cleaned sans the fragranced refreshener. We were very happy with the new room. My husband was able to breathe easier. The desk clear, Rodney and the Manager, Christine, were very courteous and helpful to us during our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families. We will be returning to visit our daughter and her new husband in the future and will most likely stay here. We just need to remember to request, "no spray in our room".

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. Middle rooms are closer to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueDayton_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and the room was excellent. Would highly recommend for business or personal travel. The front desk managers and staff were excellent and very accommodating.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have family in the area and every time we visit them we stay here. Our first stay at this location was about 10 years ago, and there have been several times since then. The staff are courteous, the rooms are clean, and it has always been a good retreat at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruddygore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longview hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Longview
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Longview North
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Longview
Staybridge Suites Longview
#6 of 35 in Longview
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Longview
Best Western Longview
#3 of 35 in Longview
189 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#16 of 35 in Longview
163 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 35 in Longview
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Longview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Longview

Address: 205 N Spur 63, Longview, TX 75601-5004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Longview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Longview
#4 Business Hotel in Longview
#5 Romantic Hotel in Longview
Price Range: $116 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Longview 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location close to I-20 and many of the area’s top corporations, including Good Shepherd Medical Center, Texas Eastman, General Dynamics and LeTourneau University, means this hotel is always popular with visitors in Longview, Texas. Mix & mingle at our Welcome Home Reception, where you’ll be treated to light dinner and drinks. Relax and enjoy world-class service: our hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi, a business center, a refreshing pool and free hot breakfast daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Longview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Longview
Hilton Longview
Homewood Longview
Longview Hilton
Longview Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing