We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious BBQ with a huge side of hospitality!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black's Barbecue

Black's Barbecue
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Lockhart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ with a huge side of hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Lockhart is known as the Barbecue Capital Of Texas so you won't have a hard time finding a BBQ restaurant there, but you will have a hard time choosing a favorite. My favorite is Black's for several reasons:
-- It was the best beef rib I have ever eaten.
-- Kent Black gave me a tour of the pits.
-- Edgar Black’s Homemade Sausage.
-- Last but not least, the men and women behind the counter and working the pits were warm and engaging from the second we walked in, until we waddled out with full bellies. This kind of hospitality plus amazing BBQ will bring me back every time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NecessaryIndulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    264
    89
    42
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1,824 reviews
1,096 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 517 helpful votes
“Dry and a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We ate here on a Sunday afternoon, decent line but not crazy, we were inside, got through the line quickly, had ribs, brisket and a pork chop. All the pork was completely dry, ribs we stringy and of extremely poor quality the McRib is a better slab of ribs. The pork chop was just bland, tasted like a plain piece of pork. Sides were bad, beans would of been better from a can, they were rather flavorless, mac and cheese was good, and creamy. Brisket was the only thing that stood out, fatty, juicy and very tasty, BBQ sauce is slightly spicy but in a good way, good selection of hot sauces. There are better choices in town, and down the street in Luling.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Flintstone-Sized Beef Ribs! The Best I've Ever Tasted!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I LOVE my Brisket, but these Beef Ribs blew it away!
Meaty, Meaty, Meaty, Super Juicy, Meaty! Smokey, Succulent, and just Awesome!

They also honor Military Discounts.

Definitely worth the trip!
Definitely worth a Return Visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_James82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Greatly improved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

For the past dozen years, I would have rated Black's at the third best bbq place in Lockhart alone. This would still make it #1 in about 40 different states. Our meal there on Friday was the best I've had in dozens of visits to Blacks. My TX native wife said the pork ribs were the best she's ever had. Period. Sides were all good, beef ribs and brisket were delicious, sausage better than remembered. Black the younger let me sample both garlic sausage and beef rib. I ran into the pit master, Black the elder, on the was to pick up some more to go and let him know it was my best experience there. He went behind the counter and took care of the additional order personally. It blew away our previous visit to Kreuz an hour earlier, which has never happened before.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank austex_gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

They said that Lockhart was the bbq capital of Texas and Black's the oldest. It was so crowded and the line was guite long outside the restaurant. Getting the food was cafeteria style. The bbq was ok but I preferred the Salt Lick in Austin where you sat at tables and got served by waitresssed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Black's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing