We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Walden Plantation
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Llano(Llano)(Great Value!)
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Horseshoe Bay Resort(Horseshoe Bay)(Great Value!)
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Post Oak Inn(Burnet)(Great Value!)
$90
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Marble Falls(Marble Falls)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Comfort Inn & Suites Burnet(Burnet)(Great Value!)
$89
$80
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
32
8
3
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
8
3
4
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 52 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed at Walden Plantation for 1 night during a motorcycle tour of Hill Country. We had a beautifully appointed room filled with everything we needed. We also enjoyed visiting with Carol, the manager, who was warm and inviting and teated us like family. We have already recommended this place to another couple as a future travel destination. It's a few miles outside of town, but the property is worth the drive.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaranRonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We recently visited the Walden Plantation for an anniversary getaway, and we were just thrilled with the accommodations here! I loved how remote it felt - like we were really getting away from the city, and I was especially appreciative of Carole's kind hospitality. She made us feel so welcome and we spent a great night around the fire chatting with her and other guests. Additionally, the rooms are tastefully decorated and the beds are SO comfy. It was a cold, cold night when we were there and that down comforter came in really handy! We will be returning to the area and this will be our hotel of choice, no question! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJAHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Personally I have been to this establishment on several occasions not only with my daughter but the couple and heard these quotes and agreed upon requests granted only to change in the end.

This is something that I have never seen done in all my years of management, in my opinion the owner should reconsider his management at this establishment.
Below is a brief real life experience as recent as the month of October 2010.

Very Non Professional Establishment:

Where do you go when you want that special day to be perfect? My personal advice is not the Walden Plantation; here is a perfect example of the kind of professionalism you will encounter at this establishment. This opinion was formed after personally speaking to not only a worker, but also the manager of the establishment.

My daughter and her fiancé recently began planning thei wedding for July 2011; at the Walden plantation in Llano, TX. This being their first choice on sites they officially went over pricing, and the fact that this was a non alcohol event. In the beginning they were quoted at $6000.00 and told that they would have to rent the entire plantation with the exception of the Walden suite, which they were more than willing to do, this price changed to about $6440 give or take.

Being a non drinking couple, they asked that the bar be shut down, and that all the alcohol be removed from the rooms, this was agreed upon at the time the planning was beginning (October 2010), along with asking if tents could be put up to accommodate certain aspects of the wedding, this also was agreed upon with the manager stating “As long as it is not on the spot where the leech field is”. After several trips to the plantation with the same words agreed upon this is what happened.

The day came to go to the plantation confirm the dates, and pay the plantation for their special weekend in July. When arriving at the Walden Plantation, her fiancé was informed that basically the owner was contacted about the event and after the manager told him they would be loosing money with no food or alcohol the fiancé was told that they would not shut the bar down and they would not remove the alcohol from the rooms, and that they basically could not hold their wedding at this establishment. The couple never told the worker or the plantation manager that people staying there would not be ordering food from their establishment the entire weekend; they simple said that a caterer would be taking care of the wedding reception.

Upon my calling the plantation after the shock of the unprofessional attitude and actions of this plantation all I got was “I am sorry”.

My estimation is that if you are planning a special event you better look some place else, save yourself the aggravation of repeated trips to this establishment and the repeated non professional attitudes, with repeated changes to you’re agreed upon requests, and pricing received here. Another thing to remember is that there are no discounts offered at this establishment for a wedding while renting the entire establishment with the exception of the Walden Suite

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
3  Thank dasher59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

The Walden Plantation is a great place to stay if you're wanting to enjoy the Hill Country without staying in a flowery, rustic B&B in Fredericksburg. We picked the spot because it looked a little more modern and had the river right behind it. The beds were very comfortable, the breakfasts amazing and the grounds well-kept. We, like some other commenters here, were also overcharged for something on our bill and we weren't sure. We only bought two beers at the bar, but were charged for more. We also got the feeling that many of the guests wanted to socialize with other guests staying there. Not us-- we were there to relax alone -- but we thought it would be nice to get a group together and stay there because they have a lot of group outdoor seating by the firepit. We were also unhappy that guests were not allowed to bring in outside alcohol, since we were on a wine-tasting tour while we were there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara78412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

This is a great place to relax and sit a spell or use as a launching point to other destinations. The rooms are elegantly appointed with King size super comfy beds and best described as casual elegant with a gentle southwestern flavor. If you are looking for rustic - this is not the place. The swimming pool is small - large enough to get wet, but too small for swimming laps. Walden Plantation is a B&B and has been open for less than 2 years. The overall site is relatively small and has 1100 ft of river frontage. There are large fish in the river and people try fly fishing here. Kayaking is advertised, but check on the river level before you plan a trip. Oh the food is the best in town.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V-ger128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews