We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”
Review of Texas Pepper - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Texas Pepper
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Keithvil
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Good Choice”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Lunch time driving to Houston, we
Spotted Texas Pepper Jalisco restaurant and decided to give it a
Try. The place is a bit rustic with cedar construction.
For appetizer we had Queso Flameado with Fajita Chicken. It was fresh house made flour
Tortillas. Both were excellent. The Chili Rellenos were very good
As was the Pollo A La Parrillada
The chimps & Salsa were
Better than most
Places. The service was also
Good. No problems at all
We Will return whenever in the
Area

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    4
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not very noteworthy”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

There are six Mexican restaurants in a town of 5k. This place recently changed management, but I found the food to be not very tasty. It tasted canned/processed. The atmosphere is very impersonal as you sit in a big common room with no partitions in very bright light. The drinks were even mediocre.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The best steak in Livingsston. Friendly, efficient wait staff. Inexpensive to expensive - something for every wallet. Entrance is on the opposite side from the parking lot and this is inconvient especially for the handicapped. Other than that, a pleasant dinning experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delish Dish”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have eaten here on many occasions and each time the food is really good. We have not experienced the issues that many of the other reviewers have had. I can't explain that! However, we will truly critique and give our honest opinion of OUR experience and with that, we realize that everyone is different!
We have ordered many of the different chicken dishes and some of those have shrimp on them. It is really difficult sometimes to get shrimp that is not over-cooked and with that rubbery texture. They do an outstanding job! The service is always great and the place is always clean. Texas Pepper is a winner with us!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ACsmartone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“its an average restaurant”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

nothing stands out about this restaurant,, there was plenty of food and it was hot, but cockroaches roamed the floors under the tables. the bath rooms were clean, but its all relative.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Pepper also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing