We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”

Shrimp Boat Manny's
Ranked #8 of 62 Restaurants in Livingston
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Is in Livingston, texas, here a link from another site with a review http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/301/1275703/restaurant/Texas/Shrimp-Boat-Mannys-Livingston
texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Service is the big question mark in this place. Four of us sat at a table for four and waited for 15 minutes while the staff argued about who would be waiting our table. Finally a girl came over and announced that she wasn't supposed to be our server, but she was going to do it, anyway. Fried onion strings were very good. Fried catfish was only average. Cajun tartar sauce was a little over the top on the spice. My wife said her gumbo was good.

One other thing I have a problem with is not even being able to get a beer or a glass of wine with my meal. This is not a fast food restaurant. Only in Texas.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herbeehusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    38
    29
    25
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, TX
Level Contributor
167 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“First Class Cajun Cuisine”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This small town restaurant is a pleasant surprise. Not only is the food great, the prices are reasonable for the large platters of food presented. They serve everything from Cajun shrimp, and catfish to steaks and salads. Most of the entrees come with a choice of two sides. I had the new potatoes which were great and a side salad to go with my Shrimp Lover's Trio. The Shrimp Kabob was mouth watering. Seafood comes with three wonderful sauces. Yum !
Hubby had the fried catfish- generous with 4 filets. They are now serving boiled crawfish on Friday and Saturday nights, as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goldilocks0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I am in Livingston for construction and ate here last night. Service was very good. I ordered the fried oysters cooked medium well. They were tasted pretty good and were properly cooked, but were a little on the small side, some only the size of a quarter. Actually, the portions of the whole meal, 6 oysters with fries and cole slaw were pretty small for the price. The meal and a glass of tea with the tip was over $20.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 105Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Service always slow & food cold by the time you ask for silverware & get it. I finally told the wait staff that if I've ordered a meal, it is safe to assume I will need silverware, so I should not have to ask for it. This happens too often. The gumbo tasted liked fried grease flour. Sent that back. Not sure if Mahi Mahi is true, but the best thing on the menu. Haven't been back in a year. The owners children were the worst servers & rude like they were doing ME a favor.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanaeJanae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Springs, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fun and different”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place has been my families' favorite for almost 20 years. My late father would drive the 90 miles every week-end just to eat there. Everything is great even the steak.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp Boat Manny's also viewed

 

Been to Shrimp Boat Manny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing