We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spanking Clean - Good Food”

Collin Street Bakery
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Lindale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spanking Clean - Good Food”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The name sounded familiar, and the building was sparkling clean and new. The deli provided tasty sandwiches on fresh baked breads. I enjoyed the excellent chicken salad on sourdough with the chicken noodle soup. All very good. Attractive cookies, desserts, gift boxes, and packaged foods decorated the bakery. The dining area was spotless with bright lighting, shining floors, and clean tables. "Were we local?" the order-taker asked, engaging us in friendly conversation. Well I was local enough to recall - after reading the bakery's history - that I had previously visited the original bakery in Corsicana and had purchased the famous DeLuxe(R) fruit cake. I was glad to see the expansion to other cities and the very attractive new building designed for the bakery/restaurant. I will definitely stop by again when I am passing through Lindale.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Art_in_Frisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    27
    17
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I expected a lot more from this bakery. Their baked goods are pretty good but they can't even make a decent cup of coffee and if you deviate from the norm like say want decaf or something they don't know what to do.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aimee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
135 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“IF HEAVEN'S GOT A KITCHEN, IT LOOKS LIKE THIS!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

You just won't believe how delightful this new, 7-month old facility is until you go in. If you're looking for a nice treat, sample the deluxe fruit cake. I cried so hard when I left, because when my Mom passed away two years ago, I had to write them to let them know we wouldn't be ordering any more fruit cakes. I had a piece of fruit cake in her honor and told them I'd write a sterling review duly deserved! TAKE EXIT 552 off of INTERSTATE 20 EAST from DALLAS TO SHREVEPORT, then when you get to Marshall, TX stop and buy some orchid pots at the factory! Great outing for the ladies and men, do it or you'll never hear the end of it from them. ENJOY!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good bakery, restaurant needs improvement”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Collin Street Bakery has long been a Texas institution for fruitcake and other bakery goods, and the Lindale branch does not disappoint in that department. In fact, when walking in, it gives the impression of being first and foremost an up-scale bakery store, with dine-in service being something of an add-on. The few tables are crowded in a small side room, and the process of ordering and paying for food has a number of kinks that need to be worked out.

The menu consists of sandwiches and soups, and the stand-out feature is Collin Street's specialty breads. The food was very good but somewhat overpriced for the portion sizes. If you order a sandwich combo, which includes a drink and a bag of chips, be aware that your drink selection is limited to iced tea or lemonade, and make sure that you are charged the combo price and not the per-item prices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TotheEndsoftheEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindale
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not too shabby”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The flavor was good and the service was nice. It just seems a little expensive for the portions. And the tea had been sitting for a while. I wouldn't avoid it, but I also wouldn't go out of my way to eat there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Collin Street Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Collin Street Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing