We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eggs and boots.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama's Daughters' Diner

Mama's Daughters' Diner
Ranked #11 of 283 Restaurants in Lewisville
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Eggs and boots.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I ordered the eggs with ribeye and received eggs with boot leather. Thin, overcooked, funny taste. I've eaten at the Dallas location and thought it was much better. It's obviously pretty popular with the locals. I'm sure other menu items are better. Not impressed with the strip center location and trying too hard to make it look like an old time cafe. The eggs were fine but there is no excuse for their poor excuse of a steak. Won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank badman525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old Texas Diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Love the breakfast, awesome biscuits, good hashbrowns, fine chicken-fried steak. Oatmeal's good too. Very casual.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ragwad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good ole' home cooking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Ate lunch with daughter and two grandchildren. All our plates were very, very good. And very reasonable prices. Rolls and cornbread were excellent. Place wasn't anything fancy but looked clean and waiter was friendly. Chicken fried steak wasn't huge like at some restaurants but with three sides, rolls, etc it was more than enough. Daily specials with 3 sides ran $8.99 but my grandson and I split a plate with two chicken fried steaks, mashed potatoes and a salad and it was only $9.70. Grandaughter had a child's plate with fried chicken, corn and mashed potatoes for $4.99. Would definitely go back. Will probably try to meet some friends at the one in Plano because its about half-way between our homes.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brotatcotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good home cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Home town favorite with a large variety on the menu

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank vacationrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast... OK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Breakfast is great.. but everything else I've tried has been a huge disappointment.

Helpful?
Thank SteveRup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Daughters' Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Daughters' Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing