We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome breakfast sandwich!”
Review of Ella Purls Trading Post - CLOSED

Ella Purls Trading Post
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Ella Purls is Located in the historic drugstore in downtown Leakey. We are a cafe, with take-out and lunch served ALL DAY! Homemade Soup Daily, Sandwiches and Huge Salads. Everything is served Fresh and Homemade. Fresh Baked Bakery Items. Ella Purls is also a gift shop that offers retro gifts, Local and hand made items, Books, Cards, T-Shirts, Soaps, Candles, Patriotic Items and much more all priced below retail.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome breakfast sandwich!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went to Ella Purls for breakfast. The breakfast panini was outstanding! Little pricey but everything is in Leakey. Staff was very friendly. If we are ever in Leakey again we will definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin3RSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fantastic soups, sandwiches & coffee's”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Ella Purl's is hands down Leakey, Texas best place to dine given it's daily offering of home made soups & fresh, healthy eating options. Tops for me (and I've had most) is the baked potato soup followed by the red pepper bisque, French onion and fantastic cauliflower soup. Each is painstaking prepared with the freshest ingredients,, slow cooked and served fresh. The sandwiches are equally labor of loves. If you want a greasy burger & fries avoid this place. If you want a tasty, moderately priced, Ella Purls Trading Post is your place. Finally add a dark roast French Press coffee to your day and relax. The staff is small but very friendly willing to go the extra mile to ensure your meal is the best. Nothing but the best, nothing but the freshest of ingredients.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magickayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cute shop, great latte”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food looked awesome, but we were not ready for lunch. We enjoyed sitting on the sidewalk while drinking two outstanding lattes. Good job ladies!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sassygirl0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Frio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food!!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The soups are to die for, the serving sizes are generous, the salads are fresh, the coffee is fabulous, and the service is fantastic. Make time to stop in when you are in Leakey!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Atomicbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leakey, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Better than Starbucks!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I love, love, love Ella Purls! They have fabulous coffees, frappes, and smoothies, and their lunch menu is wonderful! Chicken Salad Squared (chicken salad on a bed of green or caesar salad) is my favorite! But I'm anxious to try the Broccoli Cheese Soup next! They also have lots of unique gift items, which is a huge plus for us! Thank you, Kristi and Damon White for bringing this jewel to our little town!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ella Purls Trading Post also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing