We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it so much we came back :)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leakey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cypress Frio Waters
georgetown, tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved it so much we came back :)”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is our second time to come to Cypress Frio Waters, and we loved it again. We have three kids, 8, 4 and 19 mos, and it is perfect for us. Quiet, relaxing, with the beautiful (cold!) Frio right there, it is our favorite place to get away for family time. My big kids love to go out and play the yard games right behind the cabin and swim in the river. Because there are deep pools and shallow places in the river too, our toddler can get in and have a blast as well. Plus the kayak we rented was a hit - paddling a "real" boat is great fun. We had a great time, thanks so much Theresa and David!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mommyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
So glad to see you again! I am glad your family had a good time. We appreciate those who choose to come back time again. It gives David and I a chance to know you a little better each time. We always enjoy hearing the kids have fun...the happy laughter and shrill screams of joy. It is a lot of fun for us as well. You take care and we hope to see you again soon. We are open all year round and the cypress trees are beautiful when they start to turn in the fall. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We did not know what to expect because as a family we never stayed at a cabin. When we arrived we were very happy with their property and the layout of the cabins vicinity to the Frio River. We wanted rest, relaxation and to enjoy ourselves outside and that's exactly what we did. We loved the great breeze that was there the 2 days making it feel more like the 80's sitting on the covered back porch of our cabin and was peaceful, quite even though it was over 100 degrees on the 2 day stay. The part of the river that runs through the property was as described; clean, clear to the bottom and cold just like the name "Frio". I wish we had more time to enjoy the whole property. Very happy with our bedding and the accommodations in our cabin. We have 2 children 6 & 8 and they had a great time. We don't know when we can get back but will do it again. Theresa and David the Owners were very nice and they deserve to have has many people as possible stay and enjoy their great place. if your reading this I hope you decide to go. PS: they said to try vacationing in the fall when the leaves are turning, I'm sure its beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I am thrilled the whole family had a good time! IT is HOT HOT HOT right now, but thank goodness for the Frio River! Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate that you took the time to express your sentiments about our place. Please try to come back soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is the second year in a row that we come to this place (family and I). what can I say, its awesome! Theresa and David (owners) are very friendly people and make it a place I look forward to visiting every summer. The river is nice and deep in several places with great visibility making it a snorkeling heaven. The cabins are very well kept and clean, very comfortable. I highly recommend this exclusive place to people who like nice quiet privacy in nature at its fullest.

Carlos Guerra
Laredo, Tx.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Well thank you for your response. We sure loved having you and your family again. It is always a welcome sight to see our repeat customers who become part of our growing family. Come see us in the fall the cypress trees are beautiful when they change colors. Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My little family of 3 kids ( 12,6, and 4), hubby and myself took our first trip to the Frio river this past July and chose this wonderful place to stay in. From the moment I called to ask for details and more info, to the time we checked out, I did not find anything unpleasant about this place. Theresa and David were both very accommodating and just had really warm personalities that made you feel like you are part of their family. The cabin we stayed at was very clean, the beds were so comfortable, the ac was great and the complete kitchen was more than we can ask for. There was plenty to do at the resort as well, fishing, wading, hiking, exploring the river, swimming, volleyball, tether ball, and all though we did not use it, kayaks and tubes were also available for rent.The location was awesome as well, close to everything but far away from any crowds. Some days we cooked, other days we ate out, either ways, we were close to the grocery store and restaurants.
We plan to go back next year and we will stay at Cypress Frio Waters again only this time we will stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsM512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
You were so kind to take the time to write about us. I would like to say Thank You for choosing us. Your kids were so sweet... We are glad you had a good time and please come see us again really soon. Take care! Brandy and Daisy Mae (our dogs) say Hi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had 10 people in our group and stayed 4 days. No complaints from anyone. Having no TV,s to distract from all the surroundings was a very NICE change of pace. The location was great. There are plenty of day trips to do when your not in the river. The Devils Sinkhole is a cool trip. Ms. Tooter who drives the tour bus is a character.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bastrop87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
It is always a pleasure to see the relax faces as we say our goodbyes! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again really soon. Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We Stayed for a long weekend with a very large group and it was awesome! The cabins were beautiful, and the view was gorgeous! We were never bored because there were always activities to keep us busy. It was a great experience and we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here. We really enjoyed your group! Come back and see us soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Very nice property with plenty of room to roam and explore, but if its summer you'll want to spend most of your time at the crystal clear river. The cabins are quaint and comfortable, with nice beds, nice showers and restrooms, and powerful AC to keep you cool at night. Only complaint is the lack of a larger refrigerator in the kitchenette. If you're staying longer than a couple of day be sure to bring an extra ice chest (or two) to keep your food and drinks cool in. Other than that everything's great and we will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AcetomatoTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about us. I agree with you about the refrigerators and we are considering an upgrade to those in the future. I am glad you enjoyed the East Frio River. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cypress Frio Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Frio Waters

Property: Cypress Frio Waters
Address: 273 Chalk Creek Rd, P.O. Box 981, Leakey, TX 78873
Location: United States > Texas > Leakey
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Leakey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cypress Frio Waters is located on the Frio River just 3 miles north of Leakey, TX off of US83. This is a family fun getaway for all to enjoy. We are open for all seasons! There are many activities with tubing, kayaking, canoes, swimming, horseshoes, volleyball, basketball, soccer, bird watching, hiking and many more activities. The river is about 75 yds. from the back porches of the cabins. Comfortable and nice accommodates with private access to the river. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cypress Frio Waters Leakey, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing