We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frio Springs Lodges
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I just got back from here. We rented cabin #6 ( they call it the honeymoon cabin). It is small, but very cozy. My opinion it is the best location. You walk down behind the cabin to the river. Great place to rest and relax. Each cabin has their own outside sitting area with a fire pit . Phillip was Great at helping with anything we made have needed and very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yelostrikr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 32 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

My fiancé and I decided to rent a cabin for the weekend on the spur of the moment after a really stressful week. There was very limited availability all over Hill Country and one of the other sites referred us here. When we first got to Frio Springs, we were a bit worried because it seemed like we were in the middle of nowhere and we lost total reception for about 20-30 miles which made things difficult because my little sister was joining us from San Antonio and was worried she'd get lost but she found her way perfectly fine following Google maps.The only reception you get there is AT&T. The cabins had WiFi, so that made up for the lack of reception. I felt that the fact that we had no reception actually enhanced our stay at the cabin.

Phillip, the guy who ran the place was VERY nice. We told him we were coming out from Houston and he arranged it so that we got a cabin that wasn't rented out for the next day which allowed us the opportunity to stay very late the next day. He was also very understanding about us arriving pretty late on Saturday since the whole trip was spontaneous.

The lodges are pet friendly, which is a definite plus since a lot of the other places that allowed pets charged you for it. We lost our cat the first day and he helped us look for the cat and called the neighbors to make sure they kept an eye out. The cat came back to our cabin on its own. Everything worked out very well.

The atmosphere was very relaxed, our neighbors were very friendly and quiet. My fiancé and I enjoyed the creek. The Frio river was 400 yards away from our cabin and we enjoyed wading in the river, it would have been perfect if it were Spring, the water was very low since we came during the off-season. I guess the up side to the off-season is that it's very quiet and secluded, so if that's what you're looking for, this would be perfect for you if you come during the off-season.

Overall, I'm very happy we came. It was a very pleasant experience. We're from Houston, so this getaway definitely showed us a different part of Texas we weren't aware of.

Room Tip: cabin 3 is at the end of the street, offering more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ahhahadiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just happened upon Frio Springs Lodges at the last minute. So glad we did! This is a wonderful, quiet place to stay. Our 2 bedroom, 2 bath cabin was beautiful. The beds were so comfortable.We liked it so much, we decided to stay an extra night. Everything was clean and it had everything we needed. There was even a washer and dryer in the cabin. The patio was nice and large. There was beautiful river access with a small waterfall. We saw deer almost every time we went outside. Philip, the manager, was very friendly and super helpful. He went out of his way to be sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. He was always available and made sure we knew how to find him if we needed him. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janendtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed in cabin 6. This is a one bedroom one bath cabin overlooking the creek, in between the cabin locations and the river. It is a lot bigger inside than the photographs appear from the outside. The bedroom is situated so that it extends over the bluff, so the back window looks directly down on the creek and the small waterfall. The sound of water was great and was added to by a spring and pool directly under the cabin. It was a great place to spend our vacation reading books and enjoying cooking outside on the nice firepit. A great place to get away.

Room Tip: The river stairs are directly behind cabin 6. The ice machine is in the front of the complex, by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmedders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We found the cabins here perfectly suited for a peaceful respite after a day of motorcycling Texas Hill Country. Cabin #8 is both clean and comfortable. The private hot tub on the riverfront patio was clean and we enjoyed our evening soaks while gazing at the stars. The evening sky was amazing. The 2 bedroom/2 bath set up with the living area in the middle is perfect for sharing, although we enjoyed it as a couple-it was nice to have separate bathrooms and spread out.

We enjoyed the many deer who came in the mornings and evenings to frolick and nap near the river. We enjoyed the many birds who came to visit, too. The squirrels entertained us with their silly antics, also. We appreciated, Phillip, the on site manager, and his very friendly and accommodating attitude. He is such a positive asset to the property! I had the chance to meet and chat with, Joanna, the owner, and found her to be a very friendly and sweet gal! We would not hesitate to stay here again and look forward to returning again someday!

Room Tip: The so-fi connection is not so good for cabins 8 & 9, so if that is really important, you should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Mid-week off-season was a great time to be at Frio Springs Lodges. We were the only guests. The cabin was nicer than the pictures made it look with good sheets, towels, nice mattresses, etc. The hot tub was awesome. We sat with on the back porch with wine and watched deer wade across the water. There was a nice pile of firewood to use for the living room's fireplace. I had no cell reception which we thought was a "plus.". About twenty miles away (on the way back to Austin) is Lost Maples State Park (which they call a "natural area" instead of "park") that had great, deserted trails so try to make time for a visit.

Room Tip: Ben, the manager, told me which cabin to pick. They all look alike online but he said #8 had the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cia78704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Service is top-notch, thanks to manager Ben Mall's close attention to detail and eagerness to provide the best accommodations in the area. All of the cabins our group stayed in (6 couples) were newer and well-equipped. Interiors are updated and comfortable -- 2 large bedrooms, each with private bath. All of our cabins had fireplaces, which we didn't use because of the summer weather -- 80s and up. Patios are covered, large and equipped with comfortable chairs and a nice round iron dining table. The patios face the river and offer a wonderful quiet place to sit, nap, read, listen to the birds, etc. Deer came to feed each evening on the other side of the river.

Room Tip: Pick a cabin on the creek; there are at least 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frio Springs Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frio Springs Lodges

Address: 692 S. Evergreen St., Leakey, TX 78873
Location: United States > Texas > Leakey
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Leakey
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on The Frio Springs, we have beautifully built lodges where families can enjoy the quiet scenery and relax among wildlife and a nice indoor or outdoor fire. Our family friendly pool is very accessible as well as our River Park. There is lots of room to ride bikes, fish, run or simply relax. We are pet friendly and enjoy getting to know our guests face to face. We are a mom & pop business with us and our 3 kids. We look forward to having you stay and enjoy the best Frio River Vacation!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Frio Springs Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frio Springs Lodges Leakey, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing