We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Sudie's Catfish House - CLOSED

Sudie's Catfish House
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We read the reviews before going and promised to keep a open mind. There were negative comment on service and a few on how the food tasted. We walked in around 6:30 on a Friday evening and were immediately seated. Waitress was friendly and recommended the calamari for an appetizer. We ordered the calamari and a couple of beers. The calamari arrived cold and the marinara sauce was hot. Calamari was fried and tasteless. There was only black pepper in the corn meal. We placed an order for fried catfish and fried oysters. The fish arrived fried on a platter of french fries. There were no spices on the fish....just corn meal. Same with the oysters. We had a side of broccoli that was right out of the refrigerator. Butter would not melt on it. We ordered a "take home" box so we could bring the food home and doctor it up for a later meal. This restaurant has been here a long time and going through new owners. With this tasteless food, they may not survive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    10
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't enjoy”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Fried crawfish tasted like it was fried in old greese. Was not a pleasent experience. The service was fine but would not waste money on going back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albion mi
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fresh and well cooked!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

we had a great meal, lots of choices. Catfish just like mom used to make. Hubby loved the sweet tea! I had the oysters and shrimp. Yummy

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank frauline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dont go on Tuesday”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I were staying nearby on a Tuesday evening, and we were referred here by the hotel. The reason for the title of this review is that the only fish they had was tilapia; no redfish, no flounder, no nothing else, They did have shrimp and crawfish available. I had the tilapia tupelo, which was really good. My wife had grilled shrimp, which looked good and she said they were excellent. The french fries were perfect, hot and crispy, and the bread pudding for dessert was good too, if a bit large even for two people.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable atmosphere and decent food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My business partner and I stopped here one evening and enjoyed the food and drinks. Our fare consisted of crawfish (good selection) and shrimp ettouffe (another good one.) The beer was cold and the gumbo hot, just like you'd expect.

Give it a try if you live nearby or are transiting between Houston and Galveston.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sudie's Catfish House also viewed

League City, Texas Gulf Coast
League City, Texas Gulf Coast
 
League City, Texas Gulf Coast
League City, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing