We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly Awesome!”

Senor Sombreros Mexican Grill & Taqueria
Ranked #9 of 162 Restaurants in League City
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
League City, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Awesome!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The food is incredible. And you cannot beat the mararitas! Only order the stuffed shrimp avacados if you are VERY hungry. I cannot get through that meal YET! They know what they are doing. This is not your typical Tex-Mex-thow-it-at you-get-you-out-the-door restarurant. The evenings are always crowded but the wait is never long. Quick service but they don't rush you. The salads are huge. The sauce/chips cannot be beat. The chips are not too thick and not too thin. I hate those chips that are too thin to hold your sauce and so thick that you taste nothing but chip when you dip. Warm red sauce with just enough bite to get your attention. And make sure you ask for the green sauce. The detail to what you order is always followed. Your food looks, tastes and IS fresh. Another mexican restaurant, Lunas, recently opened in the parking lot. Trust me, skip them (or get you a mexican TV dinner @ Kroger's because it taste the same) and eat at Senor's. Good new-Senor's IS expanding their dining room. Can't wait. Don't let the location and strip center appearance fool you. You will come back for more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    35
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Larue, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Small spot HUGE flavor”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have started making this little restaurant a "must" every time we head down to League City. The food is great, portions are large & the staff very friendly and accomodating. They hit on the traditional & throw in some twists that are incredible! I had the shrimp stuffed avocados that are are then covered in cheese & fried- SO GOOD!! Their Tres Leches cake is in high demand, so you have to get there early; however, we called a couple days ahead and they made us our own for a birthday lunch & it was delicious. I will say that the place is small, so if you are wanting to sit a large group, or wanting an intimate setting, maybe not your place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyNDevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Salsa!!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

These guys are great-food is delicious--salsa is served warm and is just right. Seats are full but service is fast and it's not a lingering type of place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalctx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Family tradition”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The family who owns this place has been in the biz for a long time, and it shows in the quality of food and service .... I usually stop in there for a coupla tacos "al carbon" and a rita or two after shopping at Krogers .... the place is awesome ... rumor has it that they are gonna expand

I like the chicken tacos and the guac with some habaneros tossed in for a little extra heat ... and don't forget the ritas

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sinbad5520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Oh wow...”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Ok...I'm blown away. Tried this place with a friend because it was the closest mexican food to his home...and got a huge surprise. I kid you not...this is my new favorite Mexican restaurant in the area. Small place that's clearly locally owned...and the owners obviously take pride in their restaurant. Everything was absolutely amazing. Food...out of this world. Drinks...fantastic. Service...awesome. It's clear that it wasn't a fluke either...place was nearly full when we walked in & stayed that way till we left. I will be back...and often.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NATHANHOUSTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senor Sombreros Mexican Grill & Taqueria also viewed

League City, Texas Gulf Coast
League City, Texas Gulf Coast
 
League City, Texas Gulf Coast
League City, Texas Gulf Coast
 
League City, Texas Gulf Coast
Seabrook, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Senor Sombreros Mexican Grill & Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing