We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in Laredo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Laredo
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oasis in Laredo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

As usual La Posada was great. Centrally located on the old plaza downtown, and off the busy interstate. A block from the International Bridge if you want to walk to Nuevo Laredo. Hotel is very professionally managed, very comfortable and clean, and reasonably priced (not much more than a standard chain hotel room out on the highway). Another surprise this time was the free breakfast buffet. Though it was everything one could want, I had a craving for their chilaquiles and a plate was whipped up in the kitchen for me at no cost. The hotel has two very lovely courtyards with swimming pools, palm trees, bouganvillas, and is just an absolutely wonderful place to hang out if you're in Laredo!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DonGregorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    79
    20
    20
    13
See reviews for
43
50
16
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

I recently stayed 4 nights at La Posada with coworkers on a business trip. We found the place to be overall a fine hotel. Some things to note that I remember:

Positives:
• Beautifully restored historic building in old downtown part of town – right on the river and the US-Mexico border (may be positive or negative, depending on whether you plan to visit Nuevo Laredo while in Laredo). Building has a lot more character than most hotels of this price range.
• 3 fine restaurants on-site
• Very reasonable rates (with our corporate discount) & breakfast included
• Each room has French door entrances overlooking a courtyard
• Multiple pools
• Free Wi-Fi internet
• Convenient covered parking under the building

Negatives:
• Some may consider the area beyond the courtyard in front of hotel to be undesirable, or even unsafe at night, but hotel vicinity is fine
• Hotel difficult to find, and signs at border crossing can be confusing (Trust your GPS when it tells you to go PAST (but not through) the border crossing after you get off the freeway!)
• Phone reservations were poorly done – given smoking room (asked for non-smoking), name incorrect, rate incorrect, no email confirmation sent as promised (email address was noted incorrectly), so we did not find the errors until check-in time
• Had flooding problems when raining. Many lobby doors, and some room doors were barricaded with towels and sand bags.

This hotel has more charm than the chain hotels at a similar (or even lower) price point. The neighborhood is authentic Laredo and that is a negative or positive depending on how you take it. I would recommend the hotel to my friends, as I think if they are staying there for the first time, they will come away pleasantly surprised.

  • Liked — Historic Building Setting
  • Disliked — Phone reservation inaccuracies.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bengali_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

I had really high hopes for this hotel due to all the positive reviews, but my personal experience wasn't all that great.

I called the hotel and “secured” a non smoking single, with king bed. I wound up in a room with a double bed, and was told that there were simply no more kings left. The bed situation didn’t bother me much at all, however.. the room I was giving was quite large, and oddly laid out. The room was definitely too large for the small AC unit to keep up with Laredo heat. Since I had a big room in the corner of the hotel, my room had two balconies, each with glass double doors which looked beautiful so long as the curtains remained closed.

Perhaps one of the most disturbing things about the hotel (for me anyway) was finding out from some of the locals that the hotel was haunted. Some people might think this to be a cool thing, but not I

If you’re curious, I suggest a quick Google search for haunting in the hotel. (My room was the last room, before getting to the ballroom)

  • Liked — Lobby looked great
  • Disliked — nothing but the lobby looked great
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2008

La Posada hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. Their recent multi-million dollar makeover is evident throughout the property. Our room was spacious, impeccably clean, and had a large bathroom with 2 sinks. Beds were very comfortable, and the easy-to-connect-to wireless internet was much appreciated. We got a rate of $85 which seemed well below what you would pay for a hotel like this anywhere else.

We ate at the Zaragoza Grill for dinner, and the food was excellent & was well presented. We didn't order room service, but the room service prices were extremely reasonable for a hotel.

There were two spacious pools on the property, and one even had a swim-up bar! There are also balconies and seating throughout the hotel, so lots of places to sit outside and enjoy the breeze & a Negra Modelo. We definitely intend to stay here again on our way back to the States! (P.S. the hotel is extremely convenient to the border crossing point)

  • Liked — clean, spacious rooms; amazing food
  • Disliked — trainee checked us into wrong room during check in (quickly resolved though)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bee_fight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

Although it is quite tricky to find the hotel it was well worth it. We were told by an employee that it stays very congested with traffic in front of the hotel due to people coming across from Mexico to work. The people wait in the small park across the street from the hotel for someone to pick them up and take them to work in the city.

Inside the hotel it is very luxurious. You feel as though you are in a resort hotel. The rooms are fabulous! We had an entrance way and an area that is like a kitchenette without the cook stove. Then there was a dining table area, living room w/balcony and 1/2 bath. The bedroom had a king size bed and a very large roomy bathroom. The only complaint we had were the towels being so thick they were stiff not soft and fluffy.

The hotel employees were extremely helpful in every way. They even had a courtesy car that took us to a local restaurant we wanted to eat at. After we finished we just called the hotel and they picked us up within 15 min. and also took us to a convenience store so we could pick up a few items we needed.

Considering our entire trip throughout the Texas hill country and southern Texas this was the best hotel we stayed at. Not to mention the price was more than reasonable at $125 per night. We stayed in a hotel on the San Antonio riverwalk that could not come close to the hospitality or ambience of this hotel for double that price!

  • Liked — The Luxury of the Hotel
  • Disliked — Trying to find the hotel.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ihearvoices2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

We have stayed here 9-10 times over the past 10-12 years and enjoy it more each time. We got a rate of $75 from the hotel website which is a absolute steal. Yes you can find plush new hotels like the Embassy or the Staybridge but they do not offer the character and charm of old Laredo like La Posada does. We try to get our favorite room (Unit 134) which has a private outdoor patio with table and chairs and a view of the Rio Grande and Nuevo Laredo plus a great view of the setting sun.

With the recent renovations the hotel is even more plush and cozy with great beds/linens/pillows. Each room has a mini-fridge and a coffeemaker and safe. The pool with the swim up bar was heated but we didn't get to use it on this trip.
We usually have a dinner at the Tack Room with its great waiters, steak and salad bar.

For those uncertain about crossing into Nuevo Laredo: we talked with customs and they said it was safe to visit during the daylight hours and within the tourist areas of the first few blocks. We walked to the Mercado and saw a few more shops open than last summer - a sign that tourism there will be returning. Other places we visit are Marti's, the jewelery stores along the main street, Mi Terra cafe, and Sombreros the tequila bar. I understand the concerns about going across but we feel it is safe and want to give much needed business to the storekeepers there who have been hit hard the last few years.

Our dealings with the hotel staff were all positive. I cannot say enough good things about La Posada.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank hondotank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2008

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel. The grounds are fabulous and the hotel service staff (room service, garage, bar, concierge, etc) were all wonderful during our stay. However, the front desk personnel are desperately in need of training. When I called to make our reservation the phone rang about 25 times and no one answered it. I called back later and after 16 rings they finally answered. Upon arrival we discovered our reservations were all mixed up and the room type we requested was not available that night. They did move us to the room type we wanted the next day, but never offered anything to make up for our inconvenience. When we checked out there was confusion again because of our room change. After taking time (during check out) to make sure it was worked out, I received my credit card bill and discovered I had been over-billed by about $300. It took numerous calls to get this straightened out and I had to call them every time - no one from the hotel ever called me back.

It took 4 days of phone calls (from me to them) to finally correct their error. It is a shame this wonderful hotel and what would have otherwise been a fabulous trip were ruined by a front desk/accounting staff that needs training.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DemoDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laredo hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Laredo Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Laredo
5.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laredo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Family Garden Inn
Family Garden Inn
#11 of 37 in Laredo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Laredo
Courtyard Laredo
#15 of 37 in Laredo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Laredo at Mall del Norte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: 1000 Zaragoza St., Laredo, TX 78040
Location: United States > Texas > Laredo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laredo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Posada Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fifty years, people have been falling in love with this legendary, boutique hotel. Built around four historic buildings along the banks of the Rio Grande, in the heart of downtown Laredo, La Posada Hotel was voted the #1 hotel in 2012 by the Texas Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Laredo
La Posada Hotel Laredo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing