We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely Great Hotel”
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Laredo
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Truely Great Hotel”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at La Posada in Laredo, Texas while our US-plated car was being nationalized across the border in Nuevo Laredo. We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and its services.

The hotel offers a breakfast buffet with delicious entrees as well as cook-to-order dishes. Service for all meals was attentive and professional. We ate in the Zaragoza Grill though there is a more up-scale Tack R oom that we did not try. Varied menu, well-priced, many beverage options. The servers remembered us from meal to meal and were friendly and personable without being intrusive.

Our room was nicely appointed; the furniture of a substantial design. Ceilings were beamed and walls brick and plaster. Tastefully decorated. The bathroom was quite spacious and the toweling thick and absorbent. A delight!

We enjoyed the pool area the second day while waiting for the call to pick up our vehicle. The pool area was quiet with subtle music in the background and aguas frescas on tap. Quite civilized and relaxing.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and wouldn't hesitate to return should the opportunity present itself. I would hope that they'd change the air freshener they pipe into the lobby area, but we were there only a short time and could exit the hotel through another entrance.

Room Tip: Although we feared that our room was not going to be in a favored area, the location (at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    81
    21
    22
    13
See reviews for
44
53
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Not only is La Posada the nearest hotel to the border crossing, but it's surprisingly luxurious and affordable. The hotel is beautiful, with two onsite restaurants and two pools, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. We ate in both restaurants. The food and service in both was great and the atmosphere in both was pleasant and relaxed. The entire staff was very accommodating. Great value. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the interior courtyard have the prettiest views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, tx
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wonderful Old Style Hotel that has the flavor of old Mexico. Check in was very easy and fast and valet for the car was prompt upon arrival. Room was large by hotel standards these days and had a large bathroom as well. Room was clean and nicely decorated. The TV was an old tube TV and did not work well, however we were staying only 1 night so it did not matter to us, but they should consider upgrading to Flat panels. The lobby surrounding areas/pool were very clean as well. Beautiful Flowers around the pool area! We ate dinner at the restaurant and had a great meal. Only complaint was the margaritas were weak and we saw the bartender measuring exactly 1 shot. next round we ordered a double shot and it was good. management should consider adding a dollar or so to the price and having the bartenders free pour the margaritas and make good ones!

Other than that we enjoyed our stay and found the staff to be very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

While staying here on a business trip, I observed the housekeeper changing my sign from "do not disturb" to "make up my room" while I was working on the computer. When I went to the fitness center I changed the sign back to "do not disturb". When I returned from the fitness center, I found the housekeeper in my room on the phone. I immediately kicked her out and informed the manager. I feel that this type of action is unacceptable by any hotel and the reason we have "do not disturb" signs is to keep housekeeping out when we are still in the room (or have not checked out yet).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

La Po is a legendary Laredo hotel. It has had it's grand moments and for a while it was on a slide downward. But it is definitely on the way back up. The staff is very accommodating . The rooms are redone and the beds comfortable. The food on site is actually outstanding. Really really good. It's good to see a grand hotel returning to its past glory. And the margaritas with fresh squeezed limes are terrific.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here with intentions to walk across the boarder, but heard it wasn't to safe over there so stayed in the USA. Walked downtown and shopped, went to both pools at the hotel. The rooms were old but clean and the staff were so freindly and accomodating. We ate in the hotel and at the Tack ajoining the hotel, was the best steak I ever had. Beautiful area, I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: You can get a room looking at Mexico over the Rio Grand, but the rooms that over look the pool are j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O'Hara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great hotel with character and a lot of history. Unfortunately, could not get a room facing Mexico, for a window view of the crossing, but I booked on short notice. Would rate higher except for the $8.00 dollar charge to park my own vehicle.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laredo hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Laredo Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Laredo
5.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laredo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Laredo
Red Roof Inn Laredo
#8 of 38 in Laredo
317 reviews
3.9 mi away
Family Garden Inn
Family Garden Inn
#14 of 38 in Laredo
166 reviews
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Laredo at Mall del Norte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: 1000 Zaragoza St, Laredo, TX 78040-5928
Location: United States > Texas > Laredo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laredo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Posada Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fifty years, people have been falling in love with this legendary, boutique hotel. Built around four historic buildings along the banks of the Rio Grande, in the heart of downtown Laredo, La Posada Hotel was voted the #1 hotel in 2012 by the Texas Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Laredo
La Posada Hotel Laredo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing