We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cool place in a hot town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Laredo
Certificate of Excellence
Angleton, TX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cool place in a hot town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is all about retreat from the heat of the city. It's beautiful, historic, welcoming and a lovely place to settle in for a visit to Laredo. The grounds are lovely. There are two pools - one that is heated in case you're there in the winter time. The service is outstnading. I've stayed here on a few occasions, and this is my favorite place to stay when visiting Laredo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verypicky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    75
    19
    19
    13
See reviews for
40
47
11
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here one night in March 2013 on the recommendation of some friends in Laredo rather than one of the bigger chains. I was a little concerned given the location, but was very pleasantly surprised on all dimensions. Driving in from Dallas, navigating the last mile or so was tricky - just be sure to turn right before entering the line to cross over into Mexico. Parking and check in went very smoothly. I used the valet parking as it was not obvious where the hotel parking was, but it is easy enough to find. Had dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant, both of which I would characterize as being above average (even if the range of offerings was limited; do try the fried lengua appetiser!). Also attended a buffet luncheon in the Tesoro Club, which was also a cut above the usual such offering in a hotel. I would not hesitate to stay here again on a return trip to Laredo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dfwmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

La Posada Hotel in Laredo is a beautiful old Spanish hotel which has been kept up extremely well. There are always gorgeous flowers abound and two very clean pools. They rooms are good sized with large bathrooms. The staff make the hotel. They are friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. La Posada is the place to stay in Laredo.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tugboatcsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I felt safe with the location of the hotel. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean. The check in/check out process was very simple and quick. I would definitely stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We just came back from two nights at the La Posada in Laredo. We had a room that faced the river and it was perfect. I ordered room service for the two mornings of our stay and it was also very good. This place is first on my list when we visit Laredo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
313 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

La Posada has been the jewel of Laredo's hotels. Located at the wonderful old town square on the banks of the Rio Grande across from old Mexico. The two pool areas are lusciously landscaped and service amazing. The room rates are so reasonable too. The rooms are good sized but the one we were in was a little dated,, but clean. I prefer the rooms with a balcony overlooking Mexico, but at times they can be a bit noisy from bridge traffic and drug dogs that are housed nearby. But I Love being that close to Mexico! It is sad we no longer can pop over for a good margarita. But the Zaragoza grill makes a great margarita. Try the yummy Pancho nachos too. You will feel like you are in Old Mexico. We were there for George Washington's Birthday Celebration .. The Jamboozee... We had a ball!!! Will return!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yokum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I travel a LOT and have stayed here a number of times over a number of years. This hotel is hands down the best hotel within 100 miles this side of the Rio Grande. The staff is for the most part friendly, the rooms are unique, and the public areas are beautiful. The junior suite is big and reasonably priced. As a bonus you can get a room and look out your window into Mexico, less than a mile away. Sure, there have been some misteps and I am currently in a dust up with them over a $15 bar tab but this has happened with all of the chains. If you are fed up with the same cookie cutter room design and decor that you get with the big chains then this hotel will be a pleasant suprise. The best part is that the rooms cost the same or just a bit more than the chain's charge.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite on the south side for a view of Mexico.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank so1cher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laredo hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Laredo Inn & Suites
3.9 mi away
Family Garden Inn
Family Garden Inn
#9 of 38 in Laredo
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Laredo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Laredo
Courtyard Laredo
#16 of 38 in Laredo
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
5.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laredo
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Laredo
Red Roof Inn Laredo
#7 of 38 in Laredo
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: 1000 Zaragoza St, Laredo, TX 78040-5928
Location: United States > Texas > Laredo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laredo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Posada Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fifty years, people have been falling in love with this legendary, boutique hotel. Built around four historic buildings along the banks of the Rio Grande, in the heart of downtown Laredo, La Posada Hotel was voted the #1 hotel in 2012 by the Texas Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Laredo
La Posada Hotel Laredo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing