We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rating the service and restaurant.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Laredo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Laredo
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Laredo
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rating the service and restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The reason I am writing this review is to recommend their lunch buffet. Thursdays and Tuesdays is Mexican food buffet. Excellent! They have a taquito station, with Juan behind the grill offering different choices as if he were a host in his own home, very gracious and professional. The pozole was very good, as were the taquitos, the charro beans and the rice were also very good. Actually, everything I tried was delicious. The price does not include your drink, but that's okay, just come hungry so you can try different dishes. I took a spoonful of some dishes just to taste them, but I didn't try every dish. The dessert is not bad but not great, a pudding, a couple of different cakes and pie.
The last time I stayed here I was disappointed and chose the Courtyard by Marriott next door. I requested shuttle service in the morning but ended up driving myself because the driver couldn't find the keys, then he couldn't find the vehicle and seemed annoyed or indifferent at best.
This time NORMA was the driver, she was courteous, prompt and professional. If you use the shuttle and she's your driver please tip her well. She is a hardworker. I agree with another post, they don't have enough staff to run the place well.
The rooms are blah, but clean and adequate. Someone mentioned the neighborhood is not safe to walk at night, and they might be right, but this is not exactly a touristy spot.
JUAN and NORMA kept me from rating this place lower in service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PackedAndReady_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    26
    14
    7
See reviews for
23
10
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were overnighting before crossing border for Puerto Vallarta. The location is very convenient to the border crossing, they have a parking garage attached to the property which is nice. The check-in was smooth, the staff were all bi-lingual and eager to help with any requests. We did not use the restaurant or dine locally. Our room had a coffee maker (regular & decaf) and ice bucket. Complimentary newspapers were available in the lobby. The WiFi worked well and was included. Our room was large with a lounge chair and a separate area with work desk and chair. The A/C worked well. The bathroom was large and the shower worked great. The room was well maintained and clean however the property is ready for renovation. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vaphillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

In Laredo for 3 day job so I only spent nights and morning there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bar was a bit overpriced but still had interesting nights as there were people from all corners of the globe. Wish I was there for the weekend, I hear the live entertainment on weekends is not to be missed.
The problems I found were the ac cutting of every 10 mins so I never felt comfortably cool sleeping. The walls were paper thin as I heard a man talking to his wife on the phone in the next room.
The location is not the greatest as just one block away there were several seedy motels with crackheads and 'working ladies'. Do not walk around at night.
I still think its worth a stay despite its shortcomings, would definitely be back for my bartender Josy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramremodelingtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Laredo, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear ramremodelingtx,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. I would like to apologize for the issues you had with your in-room Air-Conditioning system and the walls of your room that fell below you expectations. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elysian Fields, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stay here every month, I am a Platinum member. I recognize the fact that this is an old style H.I. and it is what it is. Check in is usually a long drawn out affair- not enough staff for the # of people trying to get in. The rooms are outdated as compared to most H.I.'s but that I guess is to be expected. I usually eat in the resturant and it is good- better than many others at other H.I.'s so no issues there.
The price is pretty good and I feel safe in the rooms. Would I walk the neighborhood at night? No.
I kind of like the under building parking.
There is nothing I actually dislike about this location but I guess I do not ever look forward to coming here. I never get upgraded or made to feel thanked for choosing this location over the other HIEX by the airport. No discount coupons for bar or restraunt ect. The beds and linens are all up to HI standareds.
You know what I do like? There is this pretty little courtyard that no one ever seems to use. I like to go and sit in the evening there. Hotel ought to consider putting more $ into the plantings. It is well maintained by the same man I see each time I am there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Located in a not-so-pleasant neighborhood. Not a safe place to walk around at night...rooms were warm, halls were hot...room basic, but clean...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldxrayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We've stayed here several times since 2010 and there's always a lot happening in the lobby. The live music coming from the bar is really loud and there's a lot of activity with people hanging out, coming and going. That's all in the lobby. Our rooms have always been quiet, clean and pleasant to sleep in. Parking is easy, there are places to walk to outside and the restaurant has good food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

February 17 2012 stay
This hotel has goten just awful.
Bad service. Bad rooms. Music in the bar is horrible, and HORRiBLY LOUD!
Rude guests from Mexico, allowing their room doors to bang close, in their comings and goings. 'Yelling' up and down the halls to each other!
As a Priority Club member it's a shame to have to go elsewhere. But after staying at this hotel the past 10 years, every stay getting worse, and the hotel/staff don't care....
So, the hotel itself has forced us to seek other venues from now on Holiday Inn, Laredo.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank botanicalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Laredo, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
BotanicalSA,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laredo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laredo hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Laredo Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Laredo
Courtyard Laredo
#14 of 38 in Laredo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Hotel
La Posada Hotel
#16 of 38 in Laredo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laredo
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Laredo
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Laredo-Event Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Laredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Laredo

Property: Ramada Plaza Laredo
Address: 800 Garden St, Laredo, TX 78040-2462 (Formerly Holiday Inn Laredo-Civic Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Laredo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Laredo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Laredo 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Plaza Laredo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laredo-Civic Hotel Laredo
Laredo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing