We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for its price”
Review of Gateway Inn

Gateway Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laredo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gateway Inn
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Laredo
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel for its price”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I always stay here because the top floor lets you see for miles, plus it's cheap and so am I. This is a no frills place- no AC in the halls, no breakfast or coffee, no alarm clock, no luxuries at all. The building and furnishings are in slightly rough condition, but my room and linens are very clean. The Internet is available for a small fee, and there's a small outdoor pool. The TV gets Showtime and 60 other channels, 7 of which are in Spanish. Speaking of which, you'd better know Spanish if you want anything from the maids, because they don't speak English. Within walking distance are dozens of stores and restaurants, a mall, a grocery store and a movie theater. If you're in a truck there's parking for 20 bobtails and box trucks, and 5 tractor-trailers. If you just want an air-conditioned room to get out of the Laredo heat and don't need luxury, this hotel will serve you well.

Room Tip: Top floors have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
2
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2010

A friend and I had traveled from San Miguel de Allende in Mexico. I had several official things to do on both sides of the border. I also needed to stock up on several things at the local stores, Wal-Mart, HEB, etc. My friend also loaded up on several things she need back in SMA, too. The Gateway was in close proximity to all the places that I needed to go to on the Texas side of the border. The price for 2 rooms was about the the same as one room at the Marriott. The night clerk was friendly and even though he was working the graveyard shift was quite pleasant and had a good sense of humor. The morning clerk, Nely, was quite friendly and helpful giving me clear and concise instructions about where to find the places to which I needed to go. The WIFi worked as good or better than most 'free' hotel Wifis that I've used. My friend mentioned that there was no free breakfast offered. I informed her that 'free' really just meant that there was no line item for the breakfast on the hotel bill. Secondly, 'free' breakfasts are often what's called 'Continental Breakfasts' (donuts, sweet rolls, toast, jelly, jams, sugar-sweetened juices, etc); being a diabetic, I can't safely eat the 'free' stuff, and I don't so, the 'free' breakfast is a waste of money for me. (Some hotels' 'senior discount' is really the removal of the alleged 'free' breakfast.) A senior, AARP or other discount is not necessary at Gateway because their price is great.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeveal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2010

This is the least expensive hotel I found in the area. It isn't pretty but not bad for the price. There is no free breakfast but free hi speed wi-fi worked great. Halls and room carpet was kind of smelly but the bathroom was extremely clean and the plumbing was in good working order. The linen was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I didn't use the A/C but the heater took a few hours to warm the room. The cable TV had all the great channels. This hotel saved me 10 to 20 dollars over other hotels on the same block. Its very close to Super Walmart and the mall and their are plenty of shopping centers and restaurants nearby. This was a decent hotel for a 'one' night stay with plenty of parking for cars and trucks.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougndiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2006

Driving down I-35 saw their ad on top of the building. Asked to see a room and took it. The fellow at the front desk was quite helpful answering my questions and gave me a booklet to find my way around Laredo.

Room was clean, AC worked well, cable TV was also nice to have to relax with before going to sleep ( No motels/hotels have A/C running when unoccupied).

Price was very good, especially compared to others I saw advertising their prices outside.

I will be staying there again soon.
A satisfied consumer.

For the price you can not expect the Taj Mahal.

  • Liked — Close to a lot of things, restaurants, shopping and the border.
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MexTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 26, 2005

Checked in after midnite, last vacant hotel available, walking thru the hallway to our room there was no ac very hot and humid, looked forward to a cool room but ac was off, waited one hour before room cooled down, very flat pillows and sunken mattress, clean room but for the price was hoping for better. Will stay only for emergency next time.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laredo hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 5, 2004

Clean room, Hot & Cold Water, Heat & Air Worked, Close to the Wal-mart and lots of nearby Restaurants, And very Affordable!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 27, 2004

i've stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions. hotel hospitality not great. cleanliness needs improvement. staff needs to be more professional. not to far from the border. only thing is no shuttle service offered. but, if you just need a place to sleep. this hotel is the one.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laredo hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Laredo
Red Roof Inn Laredo
#8 of 37 in Laredo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Laredo
0.9 mi away
Family Garden Inn
Family Garden Inn
#13 of 37 in Laredo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Laredo
1.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Laredo - Del Mar
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Laredo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Property: Gateway Inn
Address: 4910 San Bernardo Ave, Laredo, TX 78041-5712
Location: United States > Texas > Laredo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Laredo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 144
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Laredo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing