We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”

The Tack Room Bar & Grill
Ranked #20 of 345 Restaurants in Laredo
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Description: "The Best Little Steakhouse in South Texas since 1982!" The Tack Room is Laredo's original bar and grill! Located next to La Posada Hotel in downtown Laredo, The Tack Room offers fine dining in a historic and charming atmosphere. History of The Tack Room: The Tack Room is recognized by the National Registry of Historic Buildings as being the very first telephone exchange for Laredo and Nuevo Laredo dating back to 1860. The building later housed one of Laredo's pioneer families, the Bruni family, and later a Customs agency when acquired by La Posada. The building was converted to a New Orleans style downstairs piano bar featuring the racing decor and theme. A copper topped bar backed up with stained glass racing back-bar downstairs with the upstairs serving diners in one of the most elaborate open show-grills in the country. All cooking is done in intimate surroundings from a beautifully designed copper and brass grill in the center of the room. The upstairs portion again features the racing theme and decor. Outside this room is a cocktail gallery overlooking San Agustin Plaza and the west patio of the complex, making for a complete historic experience.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The food was good and service is standard for service received around town. The price was the biggest turnoff. The value of food and service did not add up to what they charged. It's priced as a five star restaurant but I'd say one star is burnt out and another is flickering

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j_bulldog_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You will like their food But.....”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

La Posada food is very good but if you want to try other restaurants there are several walking distance.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mickey1947065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lots of hype. Not exciting.”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The restaurant is upstairs of the bar and quite small. Service was slow and our waiter was not very attentive. An older gentleman serving other tables appeared prompt and courteous. The salad bar was pitiful with a lot of limp lettuce, The fish was good but smothered in white sauce. Steaks were okay but overpriced for the quality. We won't choose to return.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I expected more”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

As regular visitor of Laredo, I have heard a lot about The Tack Room, so I decided to give it a try. To sum it up, it was not bad, but I expected more. To begin, the restaurant is tiny. And by tiny I mean really tiny. The salad bar was quite nice. The assorted greens left something to be desired, but the addition of unique ingredients like hearts of palm and anchovies more than made up for the this. The croutons were obviously store bought, another disappointment.
I ordered the churrasco, a butterflied filet topped with chimichurri sauce. While the steak was cooked to a perfect medium, it was under seasoned (or unseasoned) and the the chimichurri sauce was more of an oil with some parsley in it. There was no hint of garlic or mint. I have personally made better chimichurri at home. The baked potato was fine. It could have used salt and olive oil to give a nice texture contrast. The fresh veggies were probably the highlight. The mixture of carrots, green beans, and zucchini was a nice break from steamed broccoli, carrots, and cauliflower. For desert, I tried the key lime pie. The graham cracker crust was good. The key lime custard was very good, but the whole pie was topped with an odd syrup that was both too sweet and too artificial tasting. I am not sure what it was, but it was not necessary. Even the neon green color is nothing known to exist naturally in food.
Overall, the food was fine, but disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Drewboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Laredo”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is probably my favorite place to eat in Laredo. Do not let it scare you because it is located downtown. They offer valet service and everyone who works at La Posada is very professional and catering. The Tack Room reminds me of an old world restaurant full of charm and old school waiters who are attentive and courteous. The steaks are fresh and the salad bar is a perfect addition. Ask if they are running their 30% off wine bottles special; as they typically are. Also, the shrimp appetizer is amazing!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neaner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tack Room Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Tack Room Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing