We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Thank God...a Marriott!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Laredo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Laredo
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Laredo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Thank God...a Marriott!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Traveling through Texas and preparing to go over the boarder by myself with a car full of items, luggage, and two bikes on the back. I was nervous. I stayed on the ground floor and brought my bikes into the hotel. After dark I was afraid to go out...gun shots out there. It is not a nice town, but the people in the Marriott were comforting. I did laundry in a clean safe room on the main floor. The staff was very helpfully as Marriotts always are. There was food, a bar and anything I needed after dark. On the morning I headed out early with support from the staff and recommendations of which road and bridge to take. The bed was comfortable! The bathroom was so clean and the room spacious. When in Laredo...go where you know it's clean and the standards make tough travel easier. Thanks Marriott!

Room Tip: Go to a floor above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellysstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    36
    11
    10
    1
See reviews for
26
10
2
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here on Sunday, July 15th (2012) on our way back to Mexico. We were very pleasantly surprised and wouldn´t hesitate to stay there again.

It is conveniently located at Exit 2 (I-35 south), just before the Mexican border. The rooms are very modern, clean and comfortable, Internet works (and is free). All and all it was a tranquil retreat (no Highway noise).

The best part for us was that it has a Bistro onsite which serves breakfast and dinner. While the breakfast isn´t included in the room price, it is only $5.00 per person if you prepay. And for that you get a served breakfast and just about anything you want. I had orange juice, a fresh fruit plate, scrambled egg whites with Canadian bacon and coffee. My husband had a more traditional bacon and egg breakfast. There was a huge menu so you could choose lighter or heavier options. I didn´t see the dinner menu but the whole set-up was very classy. They had a full bar and offered appetizers (not sure of the cost). I particularly liked the modern clean décor. Red leather (or leatherette) chairs, some bar stools. The kind of place that doesn´t look like a typical breakfast room, but rather a chic place you would choose to go to even if you weren´t staying there.

From what I could see, the staff were friendly and professional and the place exceedingly well-run.

The cost of our King room was $80 plus tax and the breakfast for 2 was an additional $10.00. To us, it was excellent value. We´d far rather pay $5.00 for a healthy fresh breakfast than get an included breakfast which consists of tired fruit, TANG-type orange juice, donuts, and one of those stupid waffle-makers. Even a step up from that kind of included breakfast (scrambled eggs, grits, and, yes a waffle-maker), doesn´t hold a candle to this custom-prepared served breakfast which gives one a proper healthy start to a travel day.

Tip: Make sure you prepay the breakfast. (We didn´t and it was something like $7.50 per person instead of $5.00 per person). They don´t tell you that.

Room Tip: Perhaps, make sure you don´t face I-35 S.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank careyeroslib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a pretty decent Courtyard - nothing fantastic, but no complaints either. I was lucky enough to get one of the few rooms with a tiny balcony which i enjoyed, mostly. I did almost plunge to my death when two pigeons flew up from their roosts in the corner and scared me out of my skin, and the latch did fall closed on one memorable occasion, briefly locking me out on the balcony. Before I rapelled down the five floors using only my belt and bootlaces, I gave a hysteria-fueled yank that popped it open, but be cautious and leave the sliding doors open. The Starbucks in the lobby does breakfast and dinner only; lunch is available for the staff, but not guests, which I thought was interesting. Now, a word or ten about the area...I ventured out on foot to walk two blocks to a gas station. Upon doing so, I felt an immediate urge to either arm myself or return posthaste to the hotel. Not being a quitter, I forged on, braving panhandlers and ladies of questionable virtue and/or gender (it was 2pm, in case you were wondering why I was out at midnight.), and did not get mugged. I highly recommend sticking to vehicular transportation...only seemed really bad on foot, close to nature, so to speak. Apart from that small issue, the location, adjacent to I-35, is easy to get around from and parking was fine. I would stay here if I return to Laredo.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony...don't see many of those these days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

I choose Marriott for solid comfort and atmosphere for the price. This property has been maintained and felt inviting and clean. Where can you stay under $85 and feel you're not sacrificing? Staff was attentive and friendly. Room was well appointed and clean. The location is convenient. I felt safe for myself and my vehicle. My only complaint is that the wifi was weak--the iPad performed sluggishly. Nevertheless, my stay was fine and I'd book here again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mjphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I was a little surprised, and concerned, by some of the negative comments here before I checked in on a Sunday afternoon. Moments later --really, seconds-- I was just fine. This is a normal, current-format upgraded Courtyard. Yes, it's parking is a little tight; no my window doesn't have a view. Still, I'm thinking the negative review was based on prejudice, not fact.

The hotel is completely upgraded; my standard room --less than $100 on my business rate -- is the current format, plent of pictures, dark wood furniture, comfortable bed and flashy linen. The bath was clean and upgraded. Even the AC was turned on at 100 degrees --were they expecting me? The greeting implied the same: had I been in Laredo before? Did I know my way around? Was my business going to expand here? I LOVE those kinds of questions: I found a carwash, used suggestions for dinner and a map, and yes I will be expanding my national chain here.

You are on the border here, folks. That means a blend of commerce and guests: those Mexican national guests are spending money here, tax dollars. Yes, sometimes it gets a little festive --I love that about the Valley! There's a bar (yes, the bartender is seemingly eleven years old, don't order a Manhattan unless it's a joke) and the standard up-to-date lobby. Great rates at an accessible, freeway-side hotel. Marriott obviously appreciates this location, so should you.

Room Tip: The address on "Santa Ursula" is the service road of I-35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chevytexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

They have a speedy check-in and sell breakfast for a nominal fee. Their pool is nice to relax in, but tends to have bee's linger by the hot tub.

However the beds are comfortable and one room fit a total of 6 (3 adults and 3 kids). For under 100.00 a night.

Room Tip: if you check in before 12pm you will be billed for two nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lupe3725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Lobby could be nice except for the filthy carpeting and strange layout. Parking is not secure. Rooms dirty, carpeting filthy, Internet bairly works and is so slow I just shut off my laptop and forgot about even trying any more. Same for the cable tv, change a channel and wait around 10 seconds to see if the channel even comes on, some didn't. Overpriced for all of this and not worth going back to ever...And I go through Laredo regularly...

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MICHAEL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laredo hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Laredo Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
La Posada Hotel
La Posada Hotel
#15 of 38 in Laredo
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Laredo
Red Roof Inn Laredo
#7 of 38 in Laredo
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Laredo-Event Center Area
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Laredo
SpringHill Suites Laredo
#22 of 38 in Laredo
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Laredo
Ramada Plaza Laredo
#18 of 38 in Laredo
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Laredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Laredo

Property: Courtyard Laredo
Address: 2410 Santa Ursula Ave, Laredo, TX 78040-2449
Location: United States > Texas > Laredo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Laredo
#8 Business Hotel in Laredo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Laredo 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard Laredo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Laredo Hotel Laredo
Laredo Marriott
Laredo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing