We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Resurgence luxury eco lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kimi Ora Eco Resort(Kaiteriteri)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Split Apple Retreat(Abel Tasman National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
194
21
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
21
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother gueststhe main houseabel tasmaninteresting peoplenew zealandbeautiful valleyextended holidaywine and appetizersself cateringpool and hot tubdawn choruspeaceful locationbreakfast provisionseach eveningour honeymoonpre dinnergreat hosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 223 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Resurgence for two nights while on a 3 week Australia and New Zealand trip. It was a real highlight of our entire trip. We stayed in a one bedroom chalet, coincidentally the same one used by the stars of the Hobbit movie, which filmed nearby. The setting is beautiful, and the chalet just lovely, with every convenience you could think of. The kitchen contained a Nespresso machine, and a fridge stocked with delicious breakfast breakfast items, including fresh baked bread and homemade jams. The bed was huge, the bathroom indulgent, and the very private deck overlooked gorgeous Abel Tasman wilderness. The beautifully landscaped outdoor pool was perfect to cool off after a day of hiking and kayaking nearby. An added plus for us was that the internet was fast and reliable.

But the best part was returning to have drinks, and then, a gourmet feast for dinner both nights. Claire is an incredible chef and both she and Peter are well-traveled and affable hosts. The other guests make wonderful dinner companions as well. We met couples from all over the world, from the honeymooners from Paris to the executive couple from the U.S. to the retirees from Australia. Claire thoughtfully checked with my picky husband, who eats a somewhat limited range of foods, about the menu each night. She provided him with an alternate salad and starter to allow him to enjoy the meals as well. The food is just wonderful! We had wine to start and wonderful conversation throughout. Thank you, Claire and Peter, for a perfect stay.

Room Tip: We loved the one bedroom chalet for the views and the privacy, but I think any of the suites would be lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We chose the Resurgence as a convenient stay whilst we got married in the Abel Tasman resort. It was wonderful. The accommodation was to an extremely high standard and very comfortable to relax and pass the days and as a special treat after we were married. Peter and Clare were extremely accommodating and offered assistance if we needed it. The location is wonderful and great to wander through their hillside walks. Highly recommended as a great place to get away from it all and recharge the batteries. Also a romantic retreat. Would recommend very highly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

After a long day of driving, we were so pleasantly surprised to arrive at the Resurgence. What an incredible, peaceful setting, although a bit remote. We had two bush chalets and found them both very comfortable, with an exceptional bathroom and luxurious linens. Whimsical touches like a stuffed kiwi on the bed, and a jar of jelly beans were unexpected, but appreciated. We had dinner the first night with our hosts, Clare and Peter, and another couple staying at the inn. Delicious local wines were served as ideas and local knowledge were exchanged. Clare and Peter are a wealth of knowledge and so very happy to help. The next day, we had a wonderful full day at Abel Tasman park - we hiked, kayaked and marvelled at the sights. We enjoyed using the outdoor grill and kitchen to prepare our own meal that night - much appreciated after many weeks of traveling and dining out. We took a dip in the hot tub, walked the trails on the property, and used the workout equipment before our departure the next morning. We would definitely return to The Resurgence as we would like to return to Abel Tasman park as well. We are already planning our next trip to New Zealand!
Chris Keaveney
Greenwich, CT

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I struggle to best describe our experience as overall it was very pleasant – beautiful setting in the hilly, green, quiet corner of New Zealand close to the wonderful Abel Tasman park, friendly hosts, lovely afternoons on the porch with the glass of local wine, nothing to do and nowhere to rush to.
But few things linger in memory that the hosts should consider to make the future travellers experience even more pleasant. Firstly, despite common preconceptions, sometimes it gets really hot in New Zealand and when we were there and the dial reached a very humid 28 degrees, the cabins are really, really stuffy with no air circulation and a fan that just does not cope with the heat. We were told that in the eco lodge setting, the air conditioning may seem a little too right wing and we agree but why not take advantage of the natural flow of the air rather than having all windows firmly bolted down? That looks like a bit of a cost saving during building that is not terribly environmentally friendly?
Secondly, a home-made bread is a lovely touch but most of home-made breads are great on the day they are baked and this one is delivered on the afternoon of the day before breakfast – it looks nice but taste like a heavy damper. Maybe the bread is meant to be brick heavy but if that is the case, maybe not every day?
Finally, the lodge offers multitude of services on its very well designed website but we had found that organising massage was sufficiently complicated that we did not bother in the end and when asked about food choices on the Abel Tasman boat we were directed to go shopping at the local supermarket (the lodge offers picnic hampers but that was not suggested – we did go to the supermarket). Travellers hoping for a luxury experience would hope that the massage booking would be breezy (as would the temperature in the cabin), ideally even before you arrive and the picnic hamper would be easier to organise than the supermarket. Otherwise it is very eco but less luxury

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resurgence, Owner at The Resurgence luxury eco lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

I am sorry that we fell short of delivering the perfect experience for you. Our style is different to other 'luxury' Bed & Breakfasts. We are set in 50 acres with abundant bird-life, hikes and hand-crafted suites that are very thoughtful of the things that travellers need - wifi, washing, herbs, gladwrap etc etc but we don't have 42" TVs and aircon or fancy linen that cannot be washed for each guest. We are assessed annually by Qualmark and score highly in the 5 star category.

I will certainly take on board the comments about ventillation as we have had more hot days than usual this summer. We do provide 2 fans for each chalet and have full length screens on the front door plus bathroom window to allow for air exchange but we will add screens to one more window in the main living area to assist AND look at putting a passive fan in the ceiling to allow hot air to escape upwards - we have done this in all the other rooms and it has helped tremendously. During the day, our cleaners are instructed to close curtains and blinds to prevent heat build up, at night it is typically cool in our area, so the hot nights were unusual for us.

We usually get rave reviews for the brown bread but we recognise that we are all different and offer soy, gluten free, different spread etc so please do just ask and we will happily swap the standard hamper items to other items such as a softer white loaf that I make as picnic bread - or come up to the lodge for a full service breakfast which is available to any of our guests.

Massages, you were just unlucky. I have 3 masseuses on call and on the day you came they were all fully booked which is unusual. We recommend that you call ahead to avoid disappointment. January is busy and the masseuses service several lodges.

As hosts we aim to please everyone and we are always deeply saddened when someone does not have a perfect experience and we are unable to make amends before you depart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Resurgence exceeded our already high expectations for a spacious, stand-alone bush lodge, which featured a large bedroom; a large bathroom with both tub and shower; a separate sitting area; a fully equipped kitchen; and a large deck to admire the surrounding rolling terrain. Peter and Clair anticipated a traveler's every need. We thoroughly enjoyed our six-day stay at The Resurgence and look forward to a return trip to continue our hiking in the greater Abel Tasman area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lonely Lake bush lodge and would certainly request it for a future trip. However, there were three separate bush lodges sitting side-by-side and all of them have a great setting with fabulous views.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGBKAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews