We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“About the best burger in town”
Review of Storms Drive In

Storms Drive In
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Lampasas
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Storm's Drive-In Restaurant in Lampasas, TX serves old-fashioned burgers & French fries made fresh daily. See why we're the best restaurant for hamburgers. At Storm's Drive-In Restaurant we make our hamburgers out of 100% Texas beef. We're one of the few old-fashioned places that grinds our own beef so we can guarantee the flavor and quality of our famous Texas hamburgers, and we slice our French fries fresh every day. We have a beautiful patio with landscaping, curbside service, and great service from friendly local workers. On 'Breakfast Taco Tuesdays' tacos are .99 And all drinks are $1 during Happy Hour from 7am-9am and 3pm-5pm. Storm's Drive-In Restaurant has a long history of feeding hungry travelers. Legend says Elvis would frequent the restaurant some 40 years ago when the legendary rock-n-roll singer was a GI stationed at Fort Hood. We invite you to try a famous Storm's Hamburger or order up a plate of fresh catfish. We've been feeding folks a long time, and we're good at it.
Lampasas, Texas
Level Contributor
197 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“About the best burger in town”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

What can you say, greasy, cheesy, hot burger. Hot fries and an ice cold Coke!! They have a nice spicy chicken sandwich as well. "Storm's Special with Cheese and a Coke, please." That's all you need to say, then loosen your belt.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    8
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Storms is Ace”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I love going to Storms when I visit Lampasas, wonderful burgers and fries. Top Dollar.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargOgwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“One of Texas's best hamburgers”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Storm's menu and food is one of the best drive ins we have experienced on your motorcycle trips here in Texas. We time our trips so if we are close to Lampasaa we stop at Storms for lunch. Prices and food are well worth driving the extra miles.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simon2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnet, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AWESOMENESS!”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

TRY the Storm's Special! It's a triple meat pattie burger. The patties are super thin, but don't let that stop you from ordering the burgers. The thinner patties means the seasoning and grilling taste goes throughout the meat, and is not bland in the middle like pretty much EVERY burger joint around. They have great chciken-fried steak sandwiches and can give you a sourdough bun if you'd like. The fried pies with soft-serve ice-cream are delish! They have tons of soft drinks and tea - as kfor the sugar syrup to put in your tea, too - old fashioned and good!

Helpful?
Thank hillcountrymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always the best”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I've been eating at storms ever since I can remember. I was born and raised in Lampasas so Storms is definitly part of our monthly diet. Great burgers, Awesome Dr. Pepper's and milkshakes, phenomonal spicy fries, and my personal favorite, fried mushrooms with ranch. If your ever in Lampasas, definitly make an effort to stop by.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jameson90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Storms Drive In also viewed

 

Been to Storms Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing