We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lakeway
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lakeway
Reviewed September 4, 2013

When we opened the sofa bed at night for our daughter there was a sheet on the bed covered in fresh, red blood. We call the front desk and the night manager who was very apologetic. Unfortunately the second set of sheets were only slightly better. There were old blood stains all over that sheet as well.. There were also blood stains on the wallpaper in the bathroom. Hotel took $50 off my bill (which was about $150). I guess they figure a 33% discount was the appropriate rate for bloody sheets. Of course no one slept at all that night. We would have left that night but for the fact it was after 11pm and we couldn't find anywhere else to stay at that time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lakeway, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Joy H,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bed sheets and housekeeping. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 201 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

I do not understand how a major hotel chain can expect guests to pay over $180.00 for a room in TEXAS that never gets below 78 degrees. I want my money back. It was sooooooooooo hot in my room from the minute I checked in and called down to complain until I left the next day still sweating as I was packing and loading up my car to get the hell out of this place. What a joke. Come on, fix your air conditioners!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lakeway, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Kay S,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had my hopes high for this hotel because of great experiences in the past with Holiday Inn Express. Unfortunately, I was disappointed for MANY reasons starting with check-in.

PROS: Prompt service when asked for extra towels, clean room and bathroom, decent price, microwave and kitchen sink in room

CONS:

1. Called ahead to have a room with a refrigerator to store breast milk. Was told it would cost $10 extra, and I agreed, so was told my room would have one. Upon arrival, clerk told me our room did NOT have a refrigerator and had no information that I had even requested one. Strike 1.

2. Upon further talking to this clerk about our refrigerator, he "suddenly" realized there was a room available with a refrigerator and that we could have said room. Gave us our keys, went up to room, and discovered THERE WAS NO REFRIGERATOR IN IT. Strike 2.

3. I needed to nurse our baby then, so I stayed in the room while my husband went down to visit front desk again. He told the clerk, politely but angry, there was no refrigerator. Clerk informed us that one could be installed right away. My husband responded with, "That's great, but do NOT install it right now, my wife is in the room nursing our baby." What do you know, less than five minutes later a maintenance worker knocks on our door while I'm nursing to install the fridge! STRIKE THREE. I was pretty upset.

4. The breakfast buffet was supremely lacking. The pancake machine was broken. The orange juice was completely gone at 7:00 am when the breakfast opened, and when I informed a worker there of the problem, her response was "okay, thanks," then continued wiping down tables. Never refilled orange juice. Coffee tasted like water. Only a few apples and oranges as fresh fruit, nothing else.

The maintenance worker coming to install our fridge, which was already supposed to be in our room, while I was nursing, was the worst part of our experience. This after we told the front desk explicitly to NOT install it while I was feeding our baby.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the second floor by the lobby. Way too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkr06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lakeway, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear jkr06,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

As being someone who doesn't like to spend a lot of money on a hotel, I can truly say the money is worth it here! The hotel lobby is outstanding, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and smelled amazing. The room even had a digital AC thermostat which allowed you to set your own temperature like at home. The beds were extremely comfortable. When visiting the pool we had to go to the front desk and request towels, as the towel stand next to the pool was completely empty. The pool was very relaxing and the spa was outstanding. The overall pool area is amazing. Everything is brand new in this hotel. The shower design wasn't the best as it leaked on the floor when showering, however it wasn't the end of the world. The breakfast bar was fresh with many options. I would defiantly stay at this hotel again. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas1859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel was recommended by locals and we had never been to Austin before, so we figured we would take their advice. This hotel was fabulous. Brand new. Great location. Very safe and very clean. Great pool. Kid friendly. Hot breakfast. Very happy with our stay here. You get what you pay for. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbcimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Fast check in, clean hotel, small work out area, small pool, decent included breakfast. So what was wrong? No hot water in the shower. You really need to fix this problem. A minor problem is the coffee pot in the bathroom. Sorry but that just doesn't work for me. Do you have any idea how many germs are in there. The bed was great, the staff was very good but I want my hot shower.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has hot water, the clerk said they are aware of the problem and are working on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NurseSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lakeway, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear NurseSherry,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Lakeway this past weekend, the 3-day holiday weekend in the US for Memorial Day, as part of a wedding party booking. Overall, the hotel is very nice and has great amenities. Everything is brand new and nicely done - I believe the hotel has only been open about 2 months. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and as far as an "express" hotel goes, this hotel is top notch. Pool is lovely, breakfast offering included in the rate is more than just a basic continental - includes eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits & gravy etc. Parking is complimentary and plentiful. There are several restaurants around the area to eat - nothing I found outstanding, but adequate. There's also a small shop in the hotel with basic sundries offered at premium pricing.

I have only a few suggestions that I believe are simply part of working out the "kinks" as you get your new staff up and running:
- The pool did not seem to be cleaned every day. There were a lot of bugs in it from overnight and there didn't seem to be someone responsible for skimming the pool each morning.
- Our room was booked as a "suite". We assumed this was a suite as we've seen at other hotels with a separate bedroom area - this was not the case. The room is pretty small and cramped with 2 queen beds, a sofa and small dining table for 2, sink/fridge/microwave. We had 4 adults in the room and an infant, and this was very tight quarters for a 3 day weekend. Suggest this "suite" classification be renamed to something a little more accurate.
- The amenities for the bathroom were not restocked each day (ie: shampoo) and we had to make a point to ask the cleaning staff to please give these each day.
- The hotel offers complimentary wi-fi throughout the building, but the reception is awful. It's nearly impossible to get a signal and when you do, it's a very weak one. Kind of surprised about this for such a new hotel.

If you are not familiar with the Lakeway area, plan your arrival accordingly: traffic along RM620 can be awful during rush hour or a holiday weekend, and the stop and go can add a lot of extra time to your trip.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a true "suite", there is only one in the entire hotel that includes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2dance75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeway
2.5 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Lakeway
5 mi away
Sonesta Bee Cave Austin
Sonesta Bee Cave Austin
#1 of 2 in Bee Cave
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Residence Inn Austin Lake Austin / River Place
4.9 mi away
The Shores at Lake Travis
The Shores at Lake Travis
#1 of 1 in Lago Vista
79 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mountain Star Lodge and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lakeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lakeway

Address: 15707 Oak Grove Blvd, Lakeway, TX 78734-2632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lakeway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lakeway
Price Range: $121 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lakeway 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lakeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing