We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for the whole family”
Review of Sea Center Texas

Sea Center Texas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sea Center Texas is a marine aquarium, fish hatchery and nature center operated by Texas Parks and Wildlife Department. See saltwater aquariums showcasing the diversity of the Texas coast and tour the largest redfish hatchery in the world. Reservations required for hatchery tours. Hours for visitation are Tuesday through Saturday 9 am-4 pm, Sunday 1-4 pm, Closed Mondays. Aquarium feedings Wednesdays and Fridays at 10:30 am. Free Admission and Tours.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
455 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This free, Texas Parks and Wildlife aquarium highlights sea life of the Gulf of Mexico with huge salt water exhibits containing a wide variety of marine animals. The Touch Pool, overseen by friendly, knowledgeable volunteers, was especially fun, filled with fascinating sea creatures, including blue and hermit crabs, sea urchins, and anemones. Scheduled tours of the fish hatchery are available. Other exhibits include replicas of Texas state record saltwater fish in the entrance hall and a Wetland Walkway outside the museum building. I enjoyed my visit and was glad to see all the children having fun and learning at the same time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank texasrepublichistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    33
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A "Don't Miss"”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a great place to visit for young or old. This is the largest redfish hatchery in the world and is a testament to the great work of the Coastal Conservation Association. Today it's operated by Texas Parks and Wildlife Department in partnership with the Coastal Conservation Association, Dow Chemical Company and US Fish and Wildlife Service Sportfish Restoration Funds. Lots to see and learn!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AvianQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More than expected and free. Donations accepted”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a great stop. We arrived just in time for the guided tour and our tour guide was great. His name was Dave, I believe. Even though he has probably done this tour many times, he did great on explaining the red drum fish cycle and how the processes work. This facility adds a huge amount of fish back into the gulf. We saw Red Drum fish and flounder being raised at this facility.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A great place for kids”
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

This is a small but very nice aquarium,
Has a small petting ank, some crafts, very nice and helpful staff, nice well kept building and exhibits
Its free (donations accepted) and easy to find (right next to a small community hospital)
As we like to drive to the beaches near surfside this is a great stop with our kids who love the place
Dont expect a large exhibit and after 40 min you have seen it all so probably wouldnt drive down specialy from houston but would def stop on the way

Helpful?
2 Thank eagle132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous Visit to Sea Center Texas”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

When I tried to make a reservation for a fish hatchery tour, I was told that they were being given as needed on the Saturday we visited. When we arrived, my Dad and I were the only two people asking for a tour. Instead of being asked to wait, we had our own tour!! The volunteer guide was extremely knowledgeable and told us far more about the sea water filtration system, spawning tanks, hatchery, and 36 one acre ponds than we could possibly retain. The visitor center takes guests on a "tour," complete with touch tank, from coastal salt marshes to the waters of the gulf. The staff is super friendly, the facility is beautiful and fully handicapped accessible - even the catch and release ponds - and there is so much to learn. Don't miss this gem of an attraction!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BLTurpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Center Texas also viewed

Lake Jackson, Texas Gulf Coast
Lake Jackson, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Lake Jackson, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sea Center Texas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing