We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty eats!”
Review of The Local

The Local
Ranked #3 of 73 Restaurants in Lake Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Whether you visit us for breakfast, lunch, dinner, coffee & dessert, cocktails with friends, big or small catered events, we strive to provide the best experience for our customers. Our goal is to be know for having the best food, ambiance, drink & service.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty eats!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Their potato salad is amazing!! Their food is very tasty and the atmosphere is wonderful!! If you go be sure to try their 'sweety'!! They're excellent!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KristinaR856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    43
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Best Kept Secret South of Houston!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I live in Lake Jackson and often take visiting friends and family to The Local to show off one of our best home town stars. The Local's excellence in food, service, and atmosphere keeps us coming back. People are always amazed to find that they can enjoy a high quality dining experience without driving 50 miles into Houston. On most weekends they have a great live music scene; great place to meet up with friends on a Friday night. I recommend the Elderflower Martini! We eat there at least weekly, and I'm always popping in for a latte or an iced tea to go during the day. Absolutely love this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Sunny_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere and great food, but not as kid friendly”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice restaurant with a good menu selection: from seafood, to chicken fried steak, to salads. Service was great. We had 2 young kids with us on a Friday early dinner (5:30 pm), and I would say The Local is probably best for a date night or meeting up with other adults. Not as kid friendly. There's no kids menu (server told us the 3 kid plate options), and no coloring/activity page or a crayon. That being said, the food and desserts were great, with a made from scratch taste. Music playing and candles on tables, plus an outdoor area with tables.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingforFunTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good eats”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Best cuban sandwich I have had around, even better than the Miami airport. convenient, quiet and good service.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DiverScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant, food, and environment.”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Beautiful interior decorations makes a wonderful environment. Wasn't hungry for lunch when we stopped but had to try a strawberry cupcake and orange cranberry muffin. Was a great snack for $5 and good sized. Also nice entry way into restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShadowtheKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Local also viewed

Lake Jackson, Texas Gulf Coast
Lake Jackson, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Lake Jackson, Texas Gulf Coast
Lake Jackson, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing