We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Island on Lake Travis
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Lago Vista
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeway Resort and Spa(Lakeway)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
16
13
14
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
13
14
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolhot tubcondodeerspapropertyamenitiestexas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 53 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family stayed at The Island on Lake Travis and had a great time. It is somewhat isolated but close enough to town and other places where you do not have to drive a long distance. The grounds were well kept and the condo was very clean and somewhat up to date. (the beds in unit 1214 were showing there wear). Parking was under the condos and we felt very safe. The only thing is that the island is no longer an island at this time because the lake is down 50-60 ft. The pool areas were well kept and not very crowded. We would recommend this place for a family stay on Lake Travis.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Jeffery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited the island for a weekend getaway and had a blast. Being out in the Texas Hill Country was nice and the drive out was very scenic. I will have to admit the resort is little out of the way and the grocery store is about 10 minutes both ways but this was what we were looking for, a quiet out of the way place. We went through Island Rentals and they had pictures of all the condos they rent on their website. Once we got everything loaded into the condo, which was very nice, we walked around the grounds and got the lay of the land. The grounds were very nice and the pools were nicely landscaped. There was a wedding group at the pool but found them to be fun.
We later went to the restaurant which had a limited menu but the burgers were good. We stayed around and partied with the people from the wedding party. We got up the next day sat on our deck and watched the boats go by for a while and then went over to the Flat Creek Winery which is about 15 minutes away and had the best meal ever. The vineyard is a beautiful and a great place to relax. We looked into renting the ATV’s or wave runners but decided to hang by the pool and have a few more drinks. In the evening someone recommended Perrain’s in Jonestown (I believe that was the name of the town) and it had some of the best Cajun food I have had in a long time….again about a 15 minute drive. We ended the evening at the bar on the Island for a drink and listened to a great band.
I have to say it was a great time and my wife and I love to get out of the city and enjoy some downtime. The people at Island Rentals were very helpful and we will be back.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LiThDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The magic is gone all that is left is an island that has seen its better days long ago in Largo Vista. This confused retirement home does not know what it wants to be. But it will never be a resort. AT first glance the place looks like the Driscoe on Lake Travis but as you enter the structure it seems like closed a down motel 6. The swimming pools were small and uninviting. The rooms had porthole style window in the court yard that allowed anyone that walked by to invade your privacy. The so called restaurant seemed like Luby's cafeteria: The lakes is a retirement community posed high on the cliffs of what used to be Lake Travis which will never be a constant level lake. It is canyon front property there are no amazing view of the lake.It is ISOLATED and EXPENSIVE and ABANDONED. It is a creepy place.

Room Tip: Stay Away: This is your warning.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank LuxuryRoadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, June 07,08. Our friend was getting married nearby and the whole wedding party stayed here. These are all privately owned condos. They all have kitchens and some are quite nice. Ours was less so. It had a balcony that overlooked the water but the hornets were nasty outside. The pull out couch was very uncomfortable for our daughter. I wish we had stayed in another condo. The lake is very low and in some areas, there are docks on dry land. Apparently there was a drought ten years ago and the water hasn't come back. There is boating but some waterfront property is not longer waterfront. It is pretty isolated so I would recommend stopping on the way in to get groceries. Otherwise you have to into Lago Vista (35 minute drive) to get to a large grocery store. We spent an evening at the resort pub where they had karaoke. We had a really large group and it was an absolute blast. We danced until 2:00 am. They were very accommodating at the pub. The food was so so, don't expect haute cuisine. No french fries, only potato chips eg. The condo is pretty pricy for what you get given you also have to pay for clean up fee. We wouldn't go there again.

Room Tip: If you are going with a party of people, make sure you get condos close together. It can seem like a maze to locate each other.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Island is a gorgeous condo complex on Lake Travis. The condo's are privately owned, so I can only comment on the particular one that we stayed in. The grounds are lovely, with groups of deer roaming around. There are three pools, a fitness center & a bar/restaurant. There were tons of kids for my son to play with. There are a few restaurants nearby, but the majority are quite a distance away. I don't think that this is the place for serious party people. The long, twisty road home really makes you fear having any alcohol & trying to drive back. Overall we had a great time & will go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaOnMyMind6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews