We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gringo's is Muy Bueno!”

Gringo's Mexican Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 66 Restaurants in La Porte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Restaurant details
Seabrook
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gringo's is Muy Bueno!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Looking for always great Tex-Mex in La Porte, Texas? Come to Gringo's on Underwood and
Spencer. Never fails on serving excellent food. Any dish my husband and I have chosen to
sample, just terrific. The service is so o o good. Favorite items are Carne Gisada and their
enchillada's platters. Just love all that they prepare. Give Gringo's a try and you will be a fan.
B.W.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    36
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southeast Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gringo's is great!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Nothing to dislike here...the food is wonderful. Large plates that do not leave you wanting and the sauces are out of this world. There is a creamy, spicy ranch dip that is worth the drive!

Great menu choices and fun atmosphere. The service is always exceptional and the free ice cream cone is a favorite of my hubby and grandkids!

You won't be disappointed!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SandraLanglinais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channelview, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere for visiting with friends”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food with large portions. Good variety. Great waitress! Got in quickly after church on Sunday morning!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quiltlady0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, TX
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Average Tex Mex”
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

I love Tex-Mex and had heard others rave about Gringos. I thought it was fine. The service was slow, tables close, and lunch prices relatively the same as dinner. The food was good; but not noteworthy. I would come back again; but probably wouldn't suggest it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chubbyviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food Poisoned”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were visiting from out of town and wanted a good Mexican Restaurant to eat at on Saturday Night. The service and atmosphere were great, even the food and drinks were great. However, I got food poisoning. My husband and I shared the fajitas for 2, but he didn't get sick. I ate some of the rice and beans and my husband did not touch his. So, it was the rice or beans that made me sick. Don't think I'll ever eat there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gringo's Mexican Kitchen also viewed

 
La Porte, Texas Gulf Coast
La Porte, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gringo's Mexican Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing