We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy Cow!!”
Review of Monument Inn

Monument Inn
Ranked #1 of 66 Restaurants in La Porte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: For over 25 years, Monument Inn has been your destination to share family traditions and special occasions with great food and a great atmosphere! Specializing in fresh Gulf Coast seafood, we've become one of Houston's most popular restaurants. In fact, we serve about 80,000 pounds of shrimp and almost 25,000 pounds of catfish, crawfish, and fresh fish every year! If you're in the mood for something fresh from the water, check out our popular Fisherman's Platter with its shrimp, oysters, catfish, stuffed shrimp, and stuffed crab. But guests also love our wide array of pastas, beef, and chicken dishes. And be sure to top it all off with a drink from our full bar! Whether it's business luncheons, meeting with friends, or special occasions, thank you for making Monument Inn your place to make memories!
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Holy Cow!!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Hands down one of the best seafood spots on the gulf.

Every item was delicious. I left stuffed wishing I could eat more.

Best cinnamon rolls I've ever had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DenoDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    125
    30
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best food around!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent in every way! Nice view! Great shrimp, rolls and cinnamon rolls! Server was very attentive! Recommend driving to this restaurant if in the Houston area!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdavidsoninc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We just visited Monument Inn again. It's been a while since we made the trip out there, including the ferry ride, but the place hasn't changed and neither has the superior seafood. Monument Inn is an excellent place for a celebration. In addition to the large restaurant with it's wide view of the ship channel there are also banquet rooms that are frequently booked for parties and weddings.

The staff excell at handling large parties. Our group of ten was served promptly and with a minumum of hassle.

I can't say enough about the food! I had the Shrimp Jamboree which included shrimp cocktail, fried shrimp, grilled shrimp and stuffed shrimp. All of it was perfectly prepared and there was more than I could eat. But I tried!

My husband had exceptional fish and chips. The fish was in small pieces and just lovely. The fried catfish was also a big hit.

We had one issue with the meal - one person in our group found many small pieces of crab shell in her stuffed crab. The manager came promptly and dealt with the issue by offering a free dessert.

I continue to recommend the Monument Inn for good seafood in a scenic setting. While you're there, make the very short drive over to see the Battleship Texas and the San Jacinto Monument for which the restaurant is named. History and good shrimp all in one place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank QOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San antonio TX
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great seafood with great views!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great service and great food with a fabulous view of the sho channel! Kids (and husband) were entertained while we waited for our food. Amazing cinnamon rolls!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FXMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Everything I want in a seafood restaurant!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had such a great time watching the ships pass by in the Houston Ship Channel. This is the perfect setting for great seafood served by a friendly and very efficient staff. The place was packed, but the service didn't miss a beat. Highly recommend the grilled fish with Creole sauce. Can't wait to come back! This place is classic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RossTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monument Inn also viewed

 
La Porte, Texas Gulf Coast
Baytown, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Baytown, Texas Gulf Coast
Baytown, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Monument Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing