We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Texas Monument” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Jacinto Battleground State Historic Site

San Jacinto Battleground State Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Battleship USS Texas and San Jacinto Monument tour
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in La Porte
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site of battle resulting in Texas's independence from Mexico.
La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Texas Monument”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Always a pleasure to recall history of the area. The grounds deserve a look around as this is one of the most important Texas birth sites. Next to Alamo the most stirring site.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    150
    52
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Monument only”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were on a tight timetable so we visited the monument only. If time had allowed, we would have spent additional time walking around the park. We enjoyed the monument and the interior museum but it was very crowded. We forked over the $16 total to ride the elevator to the top and it was worth it for the views and the perspective of what took place there in history. I wish the observation deck was open air. We saw the battleship but did not take a tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The experience of entering and walking in a 100 years military ship , to see the canyons and guns and beds and all other things that they keep there is something really good. We were in Galveston and took a 40min. ride to the battleground and is was worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank YYCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“best views of Houston, hands down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Must see this if you're ever in Houston. The $4 a ticket to ride the elevator up almost 500 ft is worth it. The history of the battleground is very intriguing also, but go for the views from atop the monument. A MUST SEE!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pryncess830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron Township, MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was a great place to visit if you like military stuff and history. My son and I spent 4 hours walking around the battleship reading all the details. It did get hot but they have a gift shop where you can purchase cool drinks and chips for a dollar. We had thought we could get to an outside observation area up on the stoe tower. Regardless was very cool.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HuronTwpTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Jacinto Battleground State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to San Jacinto Battleground State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing