We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Quite What We Expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Jacinto Battleground State Historic Site

San Jacinto Battleground State Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Battleship USS Texas and San Jacinto Monument tour
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in La Porte
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site of battle resulting in Texas's independence from Mexico.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not Quite What We Expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

If this is the site of the decisive victory over the Mexican Army that gave Texas its independence, you would think the State of Texas would invest serious capital here to create a top-notch experience for visitors. Something that says: "This place is hallowed ground." Instead, we drove through a nest of oil refineries into a wide, flat and open expanse of ground surrounded by marsh. At the core of this park is a 425-foot monument reminiscent of the Washington Monument. In the base of the monument, there is a small museum with artifacts and displays relative to the history of Texas. There also is a small theater showing a very good 30-minute film about the fight for Texas independence.
We paid the entrance fees for the museum and the theater and found them worthwhile. There is an additional fee if you want access to a more extensive set of artifacts and displays. We were sorely disappointed to find that the elevators to the top of the monument were out of commission for maintenance - so we were unable to view the battleground from aloft. Perhaps that would have helped our opinion.
We satisfied ourselves with walking the property - but, again, we were disappointed. There was far more signage and interpretive information about the ecology of the area and environmental concerns than about the history of the site or the battle that occurred there. Perhaps there was more information at the top of the monument? Hmmm. But the elevators weren't working. Texas needs to put some effort into interpretive information in the field for those who either can't or won't take the elevator ride. It looked like an awful lot of money went into building a boardwalk over the marsh to observe wildlife and the ecology. We wished that as much money had been invested to help us envision the battle that had occurred there - and its significance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sssster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    150
    52
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A special place to all native Texans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

No real way to describe the visit other than to say that it's a piece of history that leaves an impression. It's a must to go the top of the monument. The view is absolutely amazing. Take time to at least walk around the Battleship Texas too. Lots of photo ops here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not to be missed! Museum about the history of Texas, rivetingly told!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We expected to see JUST a monument, but what we got was so much more! The museum has a video presentation that was absolutely wonderful, with tales about the start of white settlement in northern Mexico which became Texas (pronounced Tae'has under Mexican rule) and after. The museum itself has many artefacts and photos, to the agreement with the Mexican government allowing settlement and land distribution, to the events that led to the settlers fighting with the Mexican government and army, the Alamo, Texas joining the US and also after. I could have spent an hour or two more just wandering around! Several bus loads of school children were there at the same time, and we were so impressed with their good manners! Bravo teachers of Texas! You are doing a great job!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank indianlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Historical Site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The free exhibit has a lot of interesting artifacts for those who are interested in Texas history. But I went ahead and bought the package ticket for $12. It includes a larger museum with many artifacts, the tower and a movie. If you are on a budget and don't want to pay for all three, I suggest you pick them in the order of Movie, Tower and Museum. From the tower you can see the coastal plain, the Houston shipping channel, oil refineries, and the Battleship Texas. The view itself is quite breathtaking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelClimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
422 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“The fascinating video about the Battle of San Jacinto sold it for me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I went to the San Jacinto Battleground State Historic Site with my family just a few days ago. Getting there through mile after mile of ugly oil refineries on the east side of Houston was interesting enough in itself, but I was not prepared to see a towering white obilisk - a full 12 feet taller than the monument in Washington DC - stand proudly against the blue sky as we approached from the south.

Our entire visit to the monument was a real delight. Don't miss out on the elevator ride to the top of the monument, which has expansive views across towards Houston in one direction and Galveston in the other. There is also a very interesting museum stacked full of artifacts, pictures and clothing from the time of the battle. Most interesting for me were the glass cases dedicated to the main players in the battle, like Sam Houston, Stephen F. Austin and the malevolent Santa Ana. However, whatever you do, don't miss out on the excellent video in the movie auditorium, which gives a graphic account of the historical events leading up to the battle, and of the conflict itself.

We were lucky enough to visit the site on the anniversary of the battle, the 21st April, 177 years after the historic event. The place was full of people in costume strutting themselves as army colonels and officers. Better still, try to get here for the annual reenactment of the battle. We will most certainly do this next year.

There is so much to see here. We missed out on the walking tour of the battlefield and a tour of nearby USS Texas, but at least we have an excuse to come back again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OilRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Jacinto Battleground State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to San Jacinto Battleground State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing