We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip it, you can find better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites La Porte
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in La Porte
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Skip it, you can find better”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

It's in a good location and the price is nice. But you can do better. Staff is rude and acts entitled. Came into my room today while I was gone without notice and made a huge mess. Apparently they were cleaning the floors, but did you have to use my clean towels to mop up. Called the front desk and if I wanted clean towels I had to bring down the dirty ones and exchange them. Very rude and could care less. Thermostat was broken. Bath tub was chipped. Floor was wet and sticky and smelled like wet dog after cleaning. Will not return

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candlewood77571, General Manager at Candlewood Suites La Porte, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you for your review.We are sorry that you did not see the Notice signs at the Front Desk, in the elevator and on each floor. We do a general cleaning of the carpet and floors every 90 days, based on our occupancy. We use an outside carpet cleaning service and i will pass on your commits on to Cintas. In the past we have not had any complaints about their service. Please accept our Apologies for your inconvenience. Please fill free to call me on your next visit to La Porte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
8
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The door was tilting a bit, the room color looked dirty, the towels were yellow colored instead of white, bed made noises when you move around, elevator extremely slow, some other guests were rather noisy. Still, the staff were very friendly and for $65/night I've stayed at worse places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candlewood77571, General Manager at Candlewood Suites La Porte, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review but our towels and sheets are Beige in color not white. We will be upgrading to white sheets and white towels in the near future along with some new bedding that we all are very excited about . Please stop by on your next visit to La Porte .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, texas, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

After having a bad experience on my Anniversary, we ended up coming here. We looked at it before the other place but thought we would have been happier elsewhere! Boy were we wrong!! This hotel is amazing! Great staff, rates and I would love to come here again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I couldn't have found a better place to stay. My five year old and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Candlewood La Porte. Our room had a microwave, full size fridge with freezer, a mini-range, toaster, and dishwasher. The room was clean and very spacious. It also had a DVD/CD player which is a huge advantage. I bring a portable DVD player that I usually have to plug into the TV so we can watch movies, but it was very nice just being able to pop a disc in a DVD player already connected. There wasn't a breakfast offered in the morning, but there was a min-grocery store in the hotel. There's also a waffle house, shipley's donuts, and mcdonalds all within a very short driving distance. Also nearby is a Kroger. If we were staying more than one night, I definitely would have purchased some groceries and possibly even do some cooking. No need for us to look for another hotel to visit in La Porte.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReviewerM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the candlewood in Laporte. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The property was well kept. I loved the fitness room. It was large and spacious. Located with in walking distance to resturants. Staff was very informative and professional.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We were surprised and pleased to find several amenities: the "store" in the lobby available 24 hours a day (pay on the honor system) was very useful; the free laundry services (several machines) in the same room with the exercise equipment; well equiped kitchenettes, with complimentary popcorn! In general excellent service, clean, a good night's sleep.

What surprised us was the regional(?) manager upbraiding the staff in front of guests. Reprimanding without cause even! Such a fool. It was very uncomfortable for us, especially when he said, nice and loud, "honor systems never work." Huh?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The finest extended stay hotel & suites hands down. Brand new property. Mgt & staff have superior customer service skills. Free hot dinner buffet & beer on WED. Laundry is FREE!! DVD players in all rooms. Have an outdoor grill/canopy, and the suites are FULLY equiped!! Pots/pans, elec stove, dishwasher, silverware, plates, cups, etc. Never had to buy anything. Gr8food pantry too. Really cater to the La Porte plant worker crowd & out-of-towners. Couldn't find ANYTHING wrong w/ this place. A real GEM. Everyone is so darn friendly!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Porte hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Porte
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites La Porte
0.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Houston La Porte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in La Porte
78 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in La Porte
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 LaPorte
Super 8 LaPorte
#6 of 14 in La Porte
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites La Porte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites La Porte

Property: Candlewood Suites La Porte
Address: 1250 S 13th St, La Porte, TX 77571-4863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > La Porte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in La Porte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites La Porte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites LaPorte is located at Hwy 146 and West Fairmont Parkway. This beautiful property is within minutes of NASA Space Center, Hobby Airport, and Sylvan Beach. At Candlewood Suites LaPorte, we put the amenities where they count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen and relax in their recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high-speed Internet access. Candlewood Suites LaPorte is within walking distance of many favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to 'dine in,' a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard convenience store provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream. Candlewood Suites LaPorte provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Much larger than the average hotel room and more affordable than a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites is the perfect home away from home for relocation, project, temporary assignment or training needs. Unlike a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites does not require a lease or minimum length of stay. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or several months, Candlewood Suites LaPorte is the solution to your temporary housing needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites La Porte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing